Any advice for someone wanting to venture into electronics? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree12Likes

Old 12-03-2018, 05:59 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 64
Default Any advice for someone wanting to venture into electronics?

I’ve been an electrician for 12 years. Mostly industrial and a little commercial here and there. I just recently dipped my toes into maintenance and absolute love it. For one, I am someone who is never satisfied. I go and go and go until I just can’t go anymore, I guess it was how I was raised. I absolutely love electricity and being able to control mechanical motion with an invisible force. Therefore I love to learn.

I work for a company with a fairly big name in the forging industry. We have to heat billets of steel with induction heaters and hammer them into shackles, hooks, logging pikes, come-a-longs, etc. my interest in electronics comes from these heaters. The logic and controls are mostly controlled through a solid state 12x12 piece of PCB. We have stacks of these boards that are supposedly bad that are awaiting a service trip to the designer of the board for around $600 - $1000. We have around 16 of these heaters, albeit different kW ratings and models altogether.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where I should start? I’ve been googling and searching the inter webs but everything says the same thing. Caps store a charge. But for what purpose? What are some instances where a capacitor would be used? I understand an RC circuit but caps are so versatile. They can be used for anything. Do they pulse the charge once it reaches capacity? I know some of these questions are elementary but I’m just trying to convey my thought processes into words as best as I can. Thanks!
TheDude_Abides is offline   Reply With Quote