any problems with this? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2015, 02:44 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NOYB
Posts: 4,665
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Cord and plug connected furnaces were very common in So Cali and in all the years of living in homes with them, working on homes with them, and discussions with ECs and building inspectors/AHJs about it, not one could come up with any evidence that it was unsafe.

Code be damned, this is one thing that is NOT an issue and the NEC needs to stay out of it.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2015, 02:55 PM   #22
MTW
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 16,981
Rewards Points: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxslick View Post
Cord and plug connected furnaces were very common in So Cali and in all the years of living in homes with them, working on homes with them, and discussions with ECs and building inspectors/AHJs about it, not one could come up with any evidence that it was unsafe.

Code be damned, this is one thing that is NOT an issue and the NEC needs to stay out of it.

MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTW For This Useful Post:
guest (02-19-2015)
Old 02-19-2015, 03:00 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
MadDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 121
Rewards Points: 4
Default

The Ontario amendment to the CEC has just allowed this setup due to home owners back feeding panels.

Here is the link with the explanation of why they will now allow this.

http://www.esasafe.com/assets/files/...s/14-01-FL.pdf
MadDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MadDawg For This Useful Post:
Vintage Sounds (02-19-2015), xpertpc (02-19-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2015, 03:49 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 522
Rewards Points: 1,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vascarelli View Post
I don't know why so many people are overlooking this. It's easy, safe, code compliant, etc.

I used to install quite a few for $250-300. Now I almost always end up talking them into an interlock style generator connection to power the entire house.
Not overlooked as it still requires a cord - see post #1.
xpertpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 04:03 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
NacBooster29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern, Ma
Posts: 2,536
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Thanks for all the input guys. I like to hear how other guys like to tackle things.
NacBooster29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 05:59 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabletie View Post
Number 8 in 407(A) says the same thing.

In uses not permitted, it says it is not a substitute for the fixed wiring for a structure.

IMO You would have to prove that the furnace vibrates to the point it needs a flexible connection or it needs to be removed for frequent repair and maintenance.
I'm gonna play devil's advocate/lawyer with this one.

Installing a cord for the purpose of having the ability to provide backup power doesn't entirely fit my definition as "substituting for fixed wiring." If the cord didn't have a cord cap and receptacle to plug into, then that's substituting. This arrangement is there for a specific, perfectly valid and sensible reason.

In this case, since this gas furnace was wired to the letter of the code, and is probably on it's own dedicated circuit, I would have pulled it out of the panel, landed it into a 1900 box near the panel, and mounted a singlex receptacle on the 1900 box along with a 3' cord and cap. Feed receptacle from breaker, plug cord into receptacle, leave the rest of the fixed wiring up to the service switch and furnace alone.


Quote:
You could also put a 2 pole double throw switch on the furnace, along with the disconnect, and nipple to a 4"sq with a 15 amp inlet. They could plug a cord into the inlet.

For the record, I have never seen a residential "gas fired air handler unit". In NJ they call them furnaces and come 120V. They put "A" coils above/next to them for cooling. Air handlers are cooling only, and are always 220V.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 06:23 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
NacBooster29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern, Ma
Posts: 2,536
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandGuy View Post

I'm gonna play devil's advocate/lawyer with this one.

Installing a cord for the purpose of having the ability to provide backup power doesn't entirely fit my definition as "substituting for fixed wiring." If the cord didn't have a cord cap and receptacle to plug into, then that's substituting. This arrangement is there for a specific, perfectly valid and sensible reason.

In this case, since this gas furnace was wired to the letter of the code, and is probably on it's own dedicated circuit, I would have pulled it out of the panel, landed it into a 1900 box near the panel, and mounted a singlex receptacle on the 1900 box along with a 3' cord and cap. Feed receptacle from breaker, plug cord into receptacle, leave the rest of the fixed wiring up to the service switch and furnace alone.
I thought of this. Unfortunately the panels in this sea side community are in the living areas, as there are no basements. So the panel is in the dining room, behind a painting. A 4" square wouldn't fly there....
Also as far as others have asked about substitute for fixed wiring. Having a cord cap eliminates that from being "fixed"
In my profesional opinion this is a gas fired appliance just like an oven..
No reason to not have it wired with a cord.
NacBooster29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having problems with this again! Anyone? Ol Sparky General Electrical Discussion 17 05-04-2014 02:30 AM
More problems,again boora2 General Electrical Discussion 4 10-25-2013 07:38 AM
Problems? k_buz Site Help and Suggestions 14 11-17-2012 10:43 AM
Problems Charliebrtt General Electrical Discussion 2 07-31-2012 05:12 PM
tv problems kf5aeo Structured Wiring 8 05-31-2012 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com