Anyone recommend this meter? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2014, 09:31 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: PEI Canada
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

I would not recommend this meter. I have had one for six months and it is very flimsy. Stay away!!!! I will be buying a fluke soon.
BThom is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2014, 09:32 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
RHWilks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oklahoma.
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 276
Default

I carried that same one. The temperature sensor was handy when checking air temperature. Unless you are needing very precise measurements, I should be fine. I lost that one and bought the next one up from the 600.
__________________
Me " I ran out of parts.." Boss " if you would have worked faster...you would have finished before you ran out of parts."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RHWilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 09:40 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: newyork
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 77
Default

how about amprobe brand they make some nice meters
st0mps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2014, 09:50 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Switched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,129
Rewards Points: 8,986
Default

You get what you pay for....

After buying and returning 3 pieces of Klien, I just went out and spent what I should have the first time and got a Fluke. I should have known better! Like when I got the cheap boots instead of the Redwings........I limped around for weeks.
Switched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:07 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
RHWilks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oklahoma.
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 276
Default

I am not say there isn't a huge difference between the Fluke and Klien meters. I don't need to be that close on voltage, but then again, I still carry a Square D wiggy for most of my if it's hot or not..tester. That old Wiggy has never lied to me!
For the type of work I do right now.. Light service, small commercial, very light residential, using a meter to pull a quick amp reading or if it's a dead short. Most of the time my meter sits in the door pocket on my truck. LOLOL. If my work changes to controls again..or doing industrial then I will invest in a fluke.

Edit..I for to mention I carried a $100 Amprobe auto ranging meter with amp clamp for years until my helper left it in a bucket in the back of my truck, and it got rained in. Amprobe is a good choice if you don't need to be perfect on your voltage.
__________________
Me " I ran out of parts.." Boss " if you would have worked faster...you would have finished before you ran out of parts."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by RHWilks; 03-29-2014 at 10:11 PM. Reason: I forgot something.
RHWilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:11 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: maryland
Posts: 1,081
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RHWilks View Post
I am not say there isn't a huge difference between the Fluke and Klien meters. I don't need to be that close on voltage, but then again, I still carry a Square D wiggy for most of my if it's hot or not..tester. That old Wiggy has never lied to me!
For the type of work I do right now.. Light service, small commercial, very light residential, using a meter to pull a quick amp reading or if it's a dead short. Most of the time my meter sits in the door pocket on my truck. LOLOL. If my work changes to controls again..or doing industrial then I will invest in a fluke.
Maybe that's why I'm not getting what the fuss is about. I'm in commercial and this meter in the op does anything (and more) than I need it to. Perhaps if I was doing controls or something I may need something different. It amps things out it gives me the voltage I can continuty test with it. easy peasy.
cultch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:23 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Switched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,129
Rewards Points: 8,986
Default

My three Klien units failed, and that had nothing to do with faulty measurements, just plain old crappy construction.

I have never once had an issue with my Fluke equipment, not one in 18 years. Three failed products in a months span, I will not purchase another Klien electronic tool.
Switched is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Switched For This Useful Post:
tonym (03-30-2014)
Old 03-29-2014, 10:31 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
RHWilks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oklahoma.
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 276
Default

I guess it's that old Ford, Chevy, Dodge debate..a buddy of mine can walk past a Chevy and it will almost catch on fire...and I can go get a old Chevy from the salvage and drive it 10 years..Not starting that debate..if that manufacturer doesn't work for you, then find the one you like. For my evil purpose that Klien will work..I am very careful with it, and it's in the pouch until I unroll it to test a voltage, and it goes right back to the truck.
My only question is did they let you return the meters? or did they give you the run around about abuse?
__________________
Me " I ran out of parts.." Boss " if you would have worked faster...you would have finished before you ran out of parts."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RHWilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:46 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Switched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,129
Rewards Points: 8,986
Default

Didn't have an issue with returns, HD is great for that. I imagine if I went to the SH that I purchased the Fluke through, I would have some type of problem with a return. Probably have to go the manufacturer route instead of the supplier.
Switched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:53 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
greenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada / Ontario/ Bruce County
Posts: 714
Rewards Points: 698
Default

__________________
“We the willing, led by the unknowing, are doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have done so much, with so little, for so long, we are now qualified to do anything, with nothing.”THE NUCLEAR ELECTRICIAN
greenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:58 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
RHWilks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oklahoma.
Posts: 421
Rewards Points: 276
Default

And that could be the issue, I purchased my Klien from a SH..we have both read stories about returns at the box stores..who knows..couldn't tell you. it's like if you go to a western wear store and buy jeans..and go to that large box store and look for the same jeans, they are almost like they are from different companies. I am not doubting your problems with that meter honestly. I wasn't real keen on purchasing my first one..it was WTF is klien doing with meters..then I found out who made them..it's not a Fluke..but I didn't pay a Fluke price for it. Yes it comes down to what you pay for....Like my Step-dad used to say.."speed cost money.....How fast you wanna go?"
__________________
Me " I ran out of parts.." Boss " if you would have worked faster...you would have finished before you ran out of parts."
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RHWilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 12:25 AM   #32
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

I carried a t5 for years but the clamps can't measure wire bigger than 1/0 which ruins it.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 09:58 PM   #33
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

is this closer to t-5?
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Klein-Too...keyword=cl3200
sparkVIR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:13 PM   #34
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,164
Rewards Points: 9,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkVIR View Post
Yes, but the T5 is a million times better.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:14 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
NacBooster29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern, Ma
Posts: 2,536
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzKill View Post
I carried a t5 for years but the clamps can't measure wire bigger than 1/0 which ruins it.
For 100 bux the t-5 is the best meter.
I have other meters but the t-5 is my go to fit in my back pocket meter.
NacBooster29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone recommend an estimating guide? owl General Electrical Discussion 6 12-17-2013 01:38 PM
Can you recommend a PLC training video or DVD? btr PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 10 06-19-2013 03:10 PM
Who Do You Recommend for Outside Lighting Edrick General Electrical Discussion 10 04-25-2011 11:54 PM
What clamp meters do you recommend? nratom45-70 Tools, Equipment and New Products 14 07-21-2009 12:52 PM
Recommend a Good Recording Amp Meter? Randy L Tools, Equipment and New Products 2 09-25-2008 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com