Anyone use these boxes? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2014, 12:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: philly
Posts: 337
Rewards Points: 286
Default Anyone use these boxes?

I never used these boxes cause they're a bit pricey but I'm doing a rewire in plaster/lath house and I'm loving them. Probably still use old work box with madison bars in drywall but these are great right now.
Attached Images
 
kgb62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2014, 12:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Riverside ca
Posts: 1,437
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Absolutely. Just wait till you have to shove a gfci in their.
Chrisibew440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 12:48 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Riverside ca
Posts: 1,437
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Don't know if you know but you can gang those bad dogs up by taking them apart and adding.
Chrisibew440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2014, 12:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: philly
Posts: 337
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisibew440
Don't know if you know but you can gang those bad dogs up by taking them apart and adding.
They are gangable.
kgb62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 12:57 PM   #5
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb62 View Post
I never used these boxes cause they're a bit pricey but I'm doing a rewire in plaster/lath house and I'm loving them. Probably still use old work box with madison bars in drywall but these are great right now.
No internal clamps, miserable.
I prefer Slater old work provided nm is used.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 12:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,787
Rewards Points: 4,348
Default

We used them in 1975 when there was nothing else available
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 01:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: philly
Posts: 337
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc
No internal clamps, miserable. I prefer Slater old work provided nm is used.
The ones I have do have internal clamps.
kgb62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 01:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,330
Rewards Points: 1,208
Default

Most rewires in this area require EMT so I just go with bracket boxes. Quick and easy with a little redecorating needed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 01:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: philly
Posts: 337
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221
We used them in 1975 when there was nothing else available
What do you use in plaster/lathe walls?
kgb62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 03:10 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
drumnut08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Am I the only one that likes the heavy duty " hard shell " carlon old work boxes ? For commercial work I'll use metal boxes with Madison bars , but as far as residential goes , I'm not putting in a metal box when everything else in the place , is plastic or fiberglass . A tip for the flip out wing old works is to run the screws in all the way through the wing , before installation so you're not fighting and rounding off the heads on the garbage screws they use .
drumnut08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 03:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
drumnut08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisibew440
Absolutely. Just wait till you have to shove a gfci in their.
It will work , but I recommend running in the unused screws and taping over the terminal , to avoid a spark show , lol .
drumnut08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 03:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Riverside ca
Posts: 1,437
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumnut08 View Post
It will work , but I recommend running in the unused screws and taping over the terminal , to avoid a spark show , lol .
Oh I know it works. Just trying to get him all pumped up. I think it technically is illegal even.
Chrisibew440 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chrisibew440 For This Useful Post:
drumnut08 (04-08-2014)
Old 04-07-2014, 03:30 PM   #13
Armed and Unhinged
 
bml215's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: philadelphia, pa
Posts: 424
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumnut08 View Post
Am I the only one that likes the heavy duty " hard shell " carlon old work boxes ? For commercial work I'll use metal boxes with Madison bars , but as far as residential goes , I'm not putting in a metal box when everything else in the place , is plastic or fiberglass . A tip for the flip out wing old works is to run the screws in all the way through the wing , before installation so you're not fighting and rounding off the heads on the garbage screws they use .
I use plastics in resi
bml215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 03:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,787
Rewards Points: 4,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb62 View Post
What do you use in plaster/lathe walls?
We always use Slater plastic cut it boxes when using NM. The tabs are set back far enough for plaster/lathe.

I always hated fumbling with those side tabs and they took up valuable space in the already narrow metal box.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 04:22 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
We used them in 1975 when there was nothing else available
Did you have to tap the 6/32's yourself too?
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 04:44 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,787
Rewards Points: 4,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandGuy View Post
Did you have to tap the 6/32's yourself too?
I'm not sure what you are referring to but I do remember that the tri tap was in everyone's bags because of the large number of untapped holes in all the metal boxes.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 04:51 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kgb62 View Post
I never used these boxes cause they're a bit pricey but I'm doing a rewire in plaster/lath house and I'm loving them. Probably still use old work box with madison bars in drywall but these are great right now.
i do and they work great.
knowledge29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sw boxes with MC hardworkingstiff Commercial Electrical Forum 40 01-04-2014 02:24 PM
Who replaces light boxes with fan boxes on service calls? Dylanewilliams Residential Electrical Forum 100 08-12-2013 01:31 PM
NYC End boxes Shockdoc General Electrical Discussion 0 05-11-2012 05:51 PM
Junction boxes, pull boxes and conduit bodies Mark1 General Electrical Discussion 14 02-25-2012 08:55 AM
Cut In Boxes onewirehookup Tools, Equipment and New Products 21 04-27-2011 08:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com