Arc fault - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 04:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Nyspark21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default Arc fault

Can you put a 2 pole arc fault breaker on a 3 wire home run and have it be acceptable to code.
Nyspark21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2012, 04:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
erics37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Depoe Bay, Oregon
Posts: 13,020
Rewards Points: 642
Default

That's what they're for.
erics37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Nyspark21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

So its not wrong for the the breaker to take out two circuits when only one is having a problem. That seems wrong.
Nyspark21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2012, 04:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
erics37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Depoe Bay, Oregon
Posts: 13,020
Rewards Points: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyspark21 View Post
So its not wrong for the the breaker to take out two circuits when only one is having a problem. That seems wrong.
That's the sacrifice you make when you pull a 3-wire cable to save a buck by sharing a neutral.

Make sure your 2-pole breaker is a Combination type AFCI.
erics37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Nyspark21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I only run 2 wire hr's. Just encountered it on some job wired by others
Nyspark21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
erics37's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Depoe Bay, Oregon
Posts: 13,020
Rewards Points: 642
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyspark21 View Post
I only run 2 wire hr's. Just encountered it on some job wired by others
Then you're prolly just stuck with it. I don't like taking over other people's jobs.
erics37 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to erics37 For This Useful Post:
Shockdoc (04-14-2012)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lighting Control Panel Direct fault and or ground fault. Masio Commercial Electrical Forum 4 06-30-2013 11:04 PM
VFD Fault dronai PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 29 01-02-2012 12:01 PM
It's my own G*D D*MN FAULT. Mr. Sparkle General Electrical Discussion 50 09-21-2011 12:55 PM
Arc fault---CH vs SQ D sparky1423 Residential Electrical Forum 1 12-03-2010 09:37 PM
Does this need arc fault? den NEC Code Forum 14 06-25-2010 02:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com