Arc fault breakers - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2016, 08:52 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mn
Posts: 12,376
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
So if you do a panel swap out or up grade you have to use AFCI's? and if it is a multi-wire circuit?
The DP breakers are cheaper than two single poles.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2016, 04:22 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
LightsOn81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North carolina
Posts: 678
Rewards Points: 548
Default

I didn't know about the dp afcis. It's what the 2014 Code requires in my municipality. Any 120 volt circuit serving anything indoors except bathrooms is required to be arc fault protected
__________________
If it gets any better, I won't be able to stand it!
LightsOn81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 09:07 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 683
Rewards Points: 52
Default

If I recall correctly, unless you extend a circuit 6 feet or more you don't need to Arc fault it. This applies to panel changes.
Majewski and Cl906um like this.
TRurak is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2016, 09:13 PM   #24
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Don't know about Viking but Graybar hates returns, even warranty returns. Another reason I like Grainger, they can look an item up on your account at any branch easily.
Whenever I returned a faulty product the counter guys are cool and shoot the chit with me. I must just be friendlier...lol
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 11:52 PM   #25
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,290
Rewards Points: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Majewski View Post
Whenever I returned a faulty product the counter guys are cool and shoot the chit with me. I must just be friendlier...lol
Maybe just a NY-NJ attitude.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 02:49 AM   #26
Big nosed attic troll
 
Majewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: In a van down by the river!
Posts: 7,544
Rewards Points: 2,774
Default

I figured it was me being easier on the eyes. Those counter guys love chocolate...
__________________
I've been alive as long as I can remember.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Majewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 04:27 AM   #27
nbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Midwestland
Posts: 400
Rewards Points: 516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cl906um View Post
Are you on the arc fault lobbying committee? I am thankful Michigan turned them down. Most of the troubles people have is putting in the recepts and touching a grounded to the equip gnd, or metal box. We had them for a while and troubles didn't stop there. Replacing these expensive breakers all the time. Now it's just remove and replace with a traditional one.
I am anti-AFCI to the core and agree that nuisance tripping can be bad, especially with motor loads. I am hoping that when you said "people" above it is not electricians. Regardless of breaker/fuse, the EGC/grounded being connected in a branch circuit is sloppy workmanship. An AFCI tripping on a ground and neutral touching might be a nuisance, but it is also an indication of how the place was wired.

Granted, the grounding system carrying current is not a big deal, it is still not code, and could potentially pose a hazard.
micromind likes this.
nbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 08:11 AM   #28
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brian john View Post
So if you do a panel swap out or up grade you have to use AFCI's? and if it is a multi-wire circuit?
Unless Cali has amended 210.12B, the 6' rule applies

~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2017, 12:14 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
LightsOn81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North carolina
Posts: 678
Rewards Points: 548
Default

I upgraded a panel elsewhere 3 weeks ago the inspector says well you got two out of three right
1) AFCIs
2)separate the neutrals and grounds after the 1st disconnect
Wanted me to add the 2nd ground rod and says when we upgrade equipment EVERYTHING in the panel and the grounding.

So at the current house in question, based on the local requirement plus it's all aluminum I've got the AFCIs
Out of seven I've got three cleared up.
__________________
If it gets any better, I won't be able to stand it!
LightsOn81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB PF400 heatsink overtemp fault Cow PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 5 12-21-2016 09:31 AM
Ground fault, ship dwong General Electrical Discussion 0 05-22-2016 01:44 PM
Non-U.L.-Certified Breakers in obsolete Panels? Karl in NY General Electrical Discussion 43 05-18-2016 10:41 PM
Handle Ties on breakers JasonCo NEC Code Forum 6 02-15-2016 03:31 PM
Arc Fault issues Tim46466 General Electrical Discussion 11 02-12-2016 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com