AWG/AMP Chart? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By emtnut
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2019, 05:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Default AWG/AMP Chart?

I need to find out if I can connect a 30AMP circuit breaker in my home on 12AWG wire. Does anyone know of an updated chart online.
Korokaa is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2019, 05:41 PM   #2
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,697
Rewards Points: 565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korokaa View Post
I need to find out if I can connect a 30AMP circuit breaker in my home on 12AWG wire. Does anyone know of an updated chart online.
Any chart is going to say that you can't.

There are a couple times that it would be allowable, but those are very speical circumstances in which there are other protections in place to stop the wire from being overheated.

In most situations, using a 30A breaker on #12 wire would be very dangerous. The wire would overheat and cause a fire.

This forum is for electrical professionals, not DIYers. But int his instance, you should not be DIYing this. You should have a qualified electrician handling it.
HackWork is online now  
Old 01-01-2019, 06:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 5,072
Rewards Points: 1,914
Default

HackWork is right. Call an electrician.
The_Modifier likes this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
"The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting." Sun Tzu
Bird dog is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2019, 06:20 PM   #4
Band Member
 
emtnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 5,807
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default

I have a 40A breaker on #14 at my place.... No fire... yet
electricguy likes this.
__________________
_____________________________________
Your Mother was a hamster, and your father smells of Elderberries. ... Now go away, or I shall taunt you a second time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
emtnut is online now  
Old 01-01-2019, 06:31 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
460 Delta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 793
Rewards Points: 932
Default

30 amp on 12awg is gonna put you at 90 centigrade or so, too hot!
__________________
Perfection is the enemy of good enough
460 Delta is offline  
Old 01-01-2019, 06:35 PM   #6
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Korokaa View Post
I need to find out if I can connect a 30AMP circuit breaker in my home on 12AWG wire. Does anyone know of an updated chart online.

sorry you will not get any info on that and 30 amp breaker with #12 wire do not bode very well at all and please follow the link below.



Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. The Moderators of this forum would prefer if you post Do It Yourself related topics on our sister site www.DIYChatroom.com

ElectricianTalk.com is designed for electrical industry professionals to discuss issues and topics related to the electrical trades and related industries. Many of our professionals are also members at DIYChatroom.com and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
<!-- / message --><!-- sig -->
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com