Cable locator - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By macmikeman
  • 1 Post By nrp3
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2017, 08:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Middleton WI
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 76
Default Cable locator

We are considering spending up to $3,000 on a cable locator. Mostly for outdoor lighting circuits.
Any body had good or bad times with an Amprobe AT3500?
We've rented Ridgid and Mclaughlin before but they are $1000 higher.
Any useful tips? Thanks in advance.
smiley64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2017, 09:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetside, RI
Posts: 609
Rewards Points: 1,183
Default

Here is what we use. Earth frame works fantastic for finding cuts.

http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3...4729753&rt=rud
samgregger is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to samgregger For This Useful Post:
smiley64 (05-03-2017)
Old 05-02-2017, 10:01 PM   #3
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

The one I used is simair to Samgregger's posting.

The one I got is from Ditch Witch but I do rent it once a while with some of tricky underground runs otherwise I keep a runofmill fluke cable tracer.

I really cant comment on the costwise on Ditchwitch verison but I am assuming about 2500 to 3500 USD depending on the options you get on it.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
smiley64 (05-03-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2017, 09:22 AM   #4
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,038
Rewards Points: 956
Default

Been using a Fisher Tw6 lately and having good luck. I chase UF faults with this, an ideal circuit tracer, megger and fault locator. Have a 3m 2273 that's never been used.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 09:54 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,438
Rewards Points: 3,276
Default

I don't know about that kind of quality locator but I can tell you I have had a progressive 501 and it has never let me down. Less than $800. You do not get depth and it won't find a fault but it has done a great job for me.
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 11:36 AM   #6
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,962
Rewards Points: 16,283
Default

Directly burying uf is a stupid practice that should be outlawed. It's funny that it was mentioned that Ditchwitch rented cable locaters....... sort of a given considering the machine eats uf cable for lunch......
readydave8 and 19delta like this.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 11:40 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,438
Rewards Points: 3,276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
The one I used is simair to Samgregger's posting.

The one I got is from Ditch Witch but I do rent it once a while with some of tricky underground runs otherwise I keep a runofmill fluke cable tracer.

I really cant comment on the costwise on Ditchwitch verison but I am assuming about 2500 to 3500 USD depending on the options you get on it.
A decal or choke knob is $2,500-$3,500 at Ditch witch. My gess is there locators are $5K or more.
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 06:03 PM   #8
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,038
Rewards Points: 956
Default

The high end ones are all pricey, but looking into what you are trying to locate and how often you are going to use it before spending all that money is wise. If I was to spend that new, I might see about some training too. 3M has training regularly in Texas for free, but you have to get yourself there. All of my gear came from Ebay in great working shape. The 3M has been in for calibration once, and though I haven't had much luck using it, I blame that on me. Now that I have moved into a neighborhood with all underground utilities, I should try it out. The TW-6 was inexpensive, especially used, and I have had good luck with it.
splatz likes this.

Last edited by nrp3; 05-03-2017 at 06:06 PM.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running low voltage (48 volt) in cable tray RFguy Canadian Electrical Forum 4 02-13-2017 08:24 PM
Ground/Shield VFD cable termination Kris Wu General Electrical Discussion 8 07-07-2016 12:58 PM
No MC Cable Bushings swimmer Commercial Electrical Forum 32 07-04-2016 05:47 AM
stove cable max length oscar sparo General Electrical Discussion 0 03-21-2016 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com