Can I do it? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree11Likes
  • 2 Post By Jhellwig
  • 1 Post By Jhellwig
  • 1 Post By Jhellwig
  • 1 Post By Jhellwig
  • 5 Post By macmikeman
  • 1 Post By skyline77
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-24-2020, 09:50 PM   #1
cog
 
stuiec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: cana-duh
Posts: 5,182
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default Can I do it?

Hey guys, I have an autoclave to move from a site with single phase 240V to a new site with 208V 3 phase. The appliance is rated 230V +/- 5%. The guy that hooked it up before used a control transformer to make 230V from what I measured to be 248V at the service. I did not disconnect the thing, it just showed up on site. (I went back to see what original primary was).

Anyway, I was never good with transformer connection calculations in school, and hoped you guys could help me out. Pictured is the set up that was at the old shop where they needed to get down about 12V. I would like to buck it up 24V at the new site.

Can I do dis?

Can you tell me how?

Can I do it?-buck.jpg

Last edited by stuiec; 03-24-2020 at 09:52 PM.
stuiec is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Unread 03-24-2020, 09:51 PM   #2
cog
 
stuiec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: cana-duh
Posts: 5,182
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default

Can I do it?-trans.jpg
stuiec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-24-2020, 09:59 PM   #3
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,467
Rewards Points: 4,551
Default

208 across h1 to h4 tie h1 to x1. Hook autoclave to h4 and x4. Not going to get you 230 volts but as close as you can with that transformer.
micromind and Easy like this.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
stuiec (03-24-2020)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Unread 03-24-2020, 10:04 PM   #4
cog
 
stuiec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: cana-duh
Posts: 5,182
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
208 across h1 to h4 tie h1 to x1. Hook autoclave to h4 and x4. Not going to get you 230 volts but as close as you can with that transformer.
and leave the jumpers at h2,h3 x2,x3 as is?
stuiec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-24-2020, 10:06 PM   #5
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,467
Rewards Points: 4,551
Default

Oops I think I told you wrong. Hook h1 to x4. Output across h1 and x4.
micromind likes this.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-24-2020, 10:07 PM   #6
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,467
Rewards Points: 4,551
Default

Yeah leave the h2 h3 and x2 x3 as is.

You are making a buck transformer setup. Look up buck boost transformer connections and you should find how to do it.
stuiec likes this.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
stuiec (03-24-2020)
Unread 03-24-2020, 10:11 PM   #7
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,467
Rewards Points: 4,551
Default

https://acmefaq.wordpress.com/2012/0...g-transformer/
stuiec likes this.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jhellwig For This Useful Post:
stuiec (03-24-2020)
Unread 03-24-2020, 10:15 PM   #8
cog
 
stuiec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: cana-duh
Posts: 5,182
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default

Thanks brother, I'm headed to the link now. Much appreciated!
stuiec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-24-2020, 10:22 PM   #9
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,467
Rewards Points: 4,551
Default

Yeah read the diagram in the link. I keep saying it wrong.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-24-2020, 10:25 PM   #10
cog
 
stuiec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: cana-duh
Posts: 5,182
Rewards Points: 1,192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
Yeah read the diagram in the link. I keep saying it wrong.
lol, I did. Thanks again
stuiec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Yesterday, 01:40 AM   #11
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 28,285
Rewards Points: 18,939
Default

Let us get our nomenclature correct. Buck= drop voltage. Boost= raise the voltage. Stu needs to boost 208 to 230 volts. Where he moved from it needed to be bucked. Stop all that bucking around.
stuiec, skyline77, B-Nabs and 2 others like this.
__________________
If you start feeling the effects of a possible Corona infection, do not take Ibuprofen (ADVIL) to relieve pain, it increases the ability of the virus to replicate itself.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread Yesterday, 02:22 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Saudia Arabia, Central
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
Let us get our nomenclature correct. Buck= drop voltage. Boost= raise the voltage. Stu needs to boost 208 to 230 volts. Where he moved from it needed to be bucked. Stop all that bucking around.

FYI Good info.
Attached Thumbnails
Can I do it?-1.jpg   Can I do it?-2.jpg  
stuiec likes this.
skyline77 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to skyline77 For This Useful Post:
stuiec (Yesterday)
Unread Yesterday, 08:54 PM   #13
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 3,067
Rewards Points: 4,970
Default

I've never wired an autoclave before so I figured I'd ask. Besides the control transformer, is the rest of the machine rated for 208V?
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Yesterday, 10:00 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,264
Rewards Points: 26,774
Default

As a resistive load, the autoclave likely doesn't even need the autoformer.

It's logic will simply keep the coils heated longer with each cycle.

I would expect the logic to run at 120 VAC.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Yesterday, 11:03 PM   #15
Sparks fly from my finger
 
Jhellwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ottumwa, Ia
Posts: 2,467
Rewards Points: 4,551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macmikeman View Post
Let us get our nomenclature correct. Buck= drop voltage. Boost= raise the voltage. Stu needs to boost 208 to 230 volts. Where he moved from it needed to be bucked. Stop all that bucking around.
I messed everything else up I tried to tell him so not surprising I messed that up. I will go sit in the corner and think about what I did.
__________________
Murphy's law is a pain in my butt.
Jhellwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Today, 12:56 AM   #16
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 28,285
Rewards Points: 18,939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
I messed everything else up I tried to tell him so not surprising I messed that up. I will go sit in the corner and think about what I did.

It's all ok, I just remember having to slap in dozens of them back in the day of chain fast food franchises I would wire all the time where the stupid owners or else the stupid architect's would spec the wrong 3 phase voltage for the individual storefronts equipment and then have it all shipped over before I even got hired to wire it. Some I would have to bring up, and some I would have to bring down the voltage to get em to work properly at those locations........

I still have I think at least three on my shelf that are probably 2 kva size...... Been sitting there a long while , but they come in handy when you need one.
__________________
If you start feeling the effects of a possible Corona infection, do not take Ibuprofen (ADVIL) to relieve pain, it increases the ability of the virus to replicate itself.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread Today, 08:28 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Western PA
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Can you change the Transformer to a Marcus MO500C
MODEL:MO500C
Type Open
VA500
Primary (Volts) 208 / 416
Secondary (Volts) 12 / 24
Input /Output Amps 2.40 , 1.20 / 41.67 , 20.83

Look at THIS DOCUMENT

You could always call Marcus Transformer
Marcus Transformer LTD
Phone: 1-800-267-7376
Fax: 1-866-205-7526
Email: [email protected]
NoBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Today, 05:23 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 1,242
Rewards Points: 1,862
Default

Here I thought this was a Cletus thread
jw0445 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread Today, 05:33 PM   #19
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,385
Rewards Points: 478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoBot View Post
Can you change the Transformer to a Marcus MO500C

MODEL:MO500C

Type Open

VA500

Primary (Volts) 208 / 416

Secondary (Volts) 12 / 24

Input /Output Amps 2.40 , 1.20 / 41.67 , 20.83



Look at THIS DOCUMENT



You could always call Marcus Transformer

Marcus Transformer LTD

Phone: 1-800-267-7376

Fax: 1-866-205-7526

Email: [email protected]
Shouldn't be necessary. Using the transformer he has with H1-H4 connected across 208v will give him 20.8V across X1-X4. Connected in a boost configuration will yield 228.8V, well within 5% of 230V.

Sent from my SM-G975W using Tapatalk
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com