¿Can I du dis? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2015, 07:57 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhellwig View Post
Yeah 30 years for us to call it hack.



Who in the world stocked a contactor that small that didn't have lugs? I haven't seen one that wouldn't take stranded on the terminals made in the last 40 years.

Pretty standard of the square d dp contactors I see.
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2015, 07:58 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post
30 years in operation doesn't make it right. You sound like the comments I hear from customers occasionally. "It's always worked this way. Why do I need to change it now?"

You're obviously trolling
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 08:02 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
The_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 12
Default

I like how the jumpers between the terminals are the same height. Looks visually appealing.

I like it.
The_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2015, 08:04 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,789
Rewards Points: 4,352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post
Are the fork terminals rated for two or more conductors?

There may not be two wires under there.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 08:34 PM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy View Post
You're obviously trolling
You're doing a better job at it in this thread.
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 08:50 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 84
Rewards Points: 160
Default

I dont see why it was even necessary. Those lugs are rated for two conductors... havent seen a relay/contactor that wasnt.
amigi968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 08:55 PM   #27
MTW
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 16,981
Rewards Points: 677
Default

That's grounds for being fired on the spot.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 09:24 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
MHElectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,928
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Why not just use a wire nut instead of making it all pretty like that? Nobody's ever gonna see it again.
__________________
Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.
MHElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 09:28 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MHElectric View Post
Why not just use a wire nut instead of making it all pretty like that? Nobody's ever gonna see it again.

That's pretty? This was my hurry up and git r done method
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 09:39 PM   #30
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cornpatch USA
Posts: 39,118
Rewards Points: 6,520
Default

No.... you cannot do that.

I can. You can't.
__________________
I'm 480Sparky, and I approved this message.
480sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 09:42 PM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Is this the DIY forum?
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 10:38 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,966
Rewards Points: 1,568
Default

[quote=ponyboy;1576754]Cuz I done it



I assume that you considered weather the lugs and cables could
safely carry the required current ?

If so ? then yes you can do it !

Many would not consider it "Best practise" thou !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 10:58 PM   #33
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
That's grounds for being fired on the spot.
I agree. It looks like something a maintenance electrician would do.
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chris1971 For This Useful Post:
MHElectric (01-20-2015)
Old 01-20-2015, 11:25 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
MHElectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,928
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponyboy View Post
That's pretty? This was my hurry up and git r done method
OR....You could've just used one long wire and cut 3 sections out of the insulation and just made each cut wrap around each screw. Like a long rattle snake.

Your definition of 'getting it done' and mine seem to be WAY different.
__________________
Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.
MHElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 11:30 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

What is it that you think we may not agree with? I Think I see a three pole lighting contactor....just all three are the same circuit.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 01:51 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Jlarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: AZ
Posts: 14,325
Rewards Points: 340
Default

If it fits it ships
__________________
Everything has user serviceable parts inside.
Jlarson is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jlarson For This Useful Post:
amigi968 (01-21-2015), Awg-Dawg (01-21-2015), xpertpc (01-21-2015)
Old 01-21-2015, 08:25 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
NC Plc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nationwide
Posts: 3,529
Rewards Points: 7,888
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

NC Plc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to NC Plc For This Useful Post:
Chris1971 (01-21-2015), mcclary's electrical (01-21-2015), meadow (01-21-2015), NacBooster29 (01-21-2015), readydave8 (01-21-2015), xpertpc (01-21-2015)
Old 01-21-2015, 11:39 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default ¿Can I du dis?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NC EET View Post
Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/


You couldn't even hold my tools kid.
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ponyboy For This Useful Post:
The_kid (01-21-2015)
Old 01-21-2015, 12:11 PM   #39
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NC EET View Post
Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

Just make sure a mod doesn't see that
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 12:32 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 93
Default

You can but I awesome you've never worked with contractors. Move on
samc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can I du dis? Shockdoc General Electrical Discussion 3 04-21-2014 11:59 AM
What's Dis 9 Cletis Vintage Electrical 19 10-20-2012 11:01 PM
Can i du dis 19 Cletis General Electrical Discussion 6 10-10-2012 04:38 PM
Can I du dis 17 ? Cletis NEC Code Forum 22 09-20-2012 01:28 AM
Can I du dis 19 ? Cletis NEC Code Forum 23 09-05-2012 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com