Capacitor for motor start - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2015, 04:49 PM   #1
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default Capacitor for motor start

So i have this old 1/200 HP single phase motor. the original cap was unmarked and completely blown. I am guessing a couple uf but i don't know. Any recommendations?
Attached Thumbnails
Capacitor for motor start-dscn1081.jpg  
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2015, 04:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 419
Default

From the nameplate, it's a 1/150HP which takes a 25 MFD capactior.
mikey383 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mikey383 For This Useful Post:
mr.photon (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 05:02 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wendon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsiberia
Posts: 9,327
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey383 View Post
From the nameplate, it's a 1/150HP which takes a 25 MFD capactior.
Are you sure it isn't a 2.5 ?
__________________
Saving the world, one backstabbed receptacle at a time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wendon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2015, 05:02 PM   #4
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wendon View Post
Are you sure it isn't a 2.5 ?
thats more of what i was thinking. that seems a bit high to me.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mr.photon For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 05:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 254
Rewards Points: 419
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wendon View Post
Are you sure it isn't a 2.5 ?
That's a possibility. I didn't notice it at first, but after zooming in there does appear to be a "." between the 2 and 5, although it's towards the top of the box and isn't painted.

Seemed a little high to me too.
mikey383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 05:12 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wendon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsiberia
Posts: 9,327
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.photon View Post
thats more of what i was thinking. that seems a bit high to me.
The horsepower doesn't make sense either. I come up with something like a 1/30 HP
__________________
Saving the world, one backstabbed receptacle at a time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wendon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 05:15 PM   #7
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

All i know at this point is that this is out of an old 8track or something. Im just repairing it for someone.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 05:45 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 324
Rewards Points: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.photon View Post
All i know at this point is that this is out of an old 8track or something. Im just repairing it for someone.
The oldest 8 track in human history?
Stickshaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 06:10 PM   #9
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickshaker View Post
The oldest 8 track in human history?
Lol i guess.. I actually have no idea what it from other then what the guy said.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:35 PM   #10
Lep
THE "BIG RED MACHINE"
 
Lep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Angel Island Ca
Posts: 3,415
Rewards Points: 2,927
Default

When I was working at the electric motor shop we hated working on Bodine motors.
We had a 115 vac Bodine gear drive motor that powered the (stator lamination slot) insulating paper creasing machine.
__________________
"See the ball; Hit the ball."
Pete Rose:Joe Morgan

Last edited by Lep; 02-07-2015 at 08:37 PM.
Lep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:41 PM   #11
Lep
THE "BIG RED MACHINE"
 
Lep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Angel Island Ca
Posts: 3,415
Rewards Points: 2,927
Default

Looks like that motor probably powered the cylinder type phonograph,not an 8 track.


Does the motor have brass bushings or ball bearings?
__________________
"See the ball; Hit the ball."
Pete Rose:Joe Morgan
Lep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:47 PM   #12
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lep View Post
Looks like that motor probably powered the cylinder type phonograph,not an 8 track.


Does the motor have brass bushings or ball bearings?
It actually has brass bushings surprisingly. im thinking your right now that you mention it.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:17 PM   #13
Lep
THE "BIG RED MACHINE"
 
Lep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Angel Island Ca
Posts: 3,415
Rewards Points: 2,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.photon View Post
It actually has brass bushings surprisingly. im thinking your right now that you mention it.
I hated installing brass bushings sometimes we had to ream them or wear them in on the lathe (with the little motor assembled and the lathe chuck turning the shaft)
__________________
"See the ball; Hit the ball."
Pete Rose:Joe Morgan
Lep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:33 PM   #14
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lep View Post
I hated installing brass bushings sometimes we had to ream them or wear them in on the lathe (with the little motor assembled and the lathe chuck turning the shaft)
I hate that too, but luckily the bushings on this one were in perfect condition.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:41 PM   #15
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,277
Rewards Points: 155
Default

I have a Bodine 12-30V DC motor I bought to try and make a 12V wind Generator. I thought Bodine was made by Baldor ?
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:43 PM   #16
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
I have a Bodine 12-30V DC motor I bought to try and make a 12V wind Generator. I thought Bodine was made by Baldor ?
Its actually a stand alone company from what i know. They dont seem to be owned by anyone.
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mr.photon For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 10:52 PM   #17
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,277
Rewards Points: 155
Default

Look Here http://www.ebay.com/itm/Baldor-Boehm...item43d752c71f
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 11:01 PM   #18
Member
 
mr.photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Huntley Il.
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 78
Default

http://www.bodine-electric.com/Asp/AboutUs.asp

it says its stand alone
__________________
"Science isn't about why, Its about why not!" -Cave Johnson
mr.photon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mr.photon For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 11:31 PM   #19
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,277
Rewards Points: 155
Default

Look at the phonograph here http://www.bodine-electric.com/Asp/CompanyHistory.asp

I guess I got duped

Last edited by dronai; 02-07-2015 at 11:33 PM.
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
capacitor, motor, start

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
reversing split phase capacitor start motor cdnelectrician PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 5 10-05-2013 03:26 PM
Motor start capacitor PSE driver General Electrical Discussion 10 03-26-2012 08:25 PM
motor run or motor start capacitor? Electron_Sam78 General Electrical Discussion 3 12-07-2010 02:17 AM
Capacitor Start Motor speedtronic General Electrical Discussion 2 06-06-2009 12:49 PM
Choosing capacitor for capacitor run motor AussieApprentice General Electrical Discussion 6 12-11-2008 08:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com