Change main panel with generator install - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2017, 10:26 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,826
Rewards Points: 25,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
I'd rather have a portable generator in a hurricane zone, over a whole house gen set.

Easier to keep out of flood water.
Heck, either way, SELL it.

I just have to ask: how did you levitate the home out of the flood ?
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2017, 07:31 PM   #22
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,046
Rewards Points: 972
Default

I'm curious about those areas down there prone to floods. If the generator gets flooded and the water is above the level of the service and most of the wiring, I'm assuming it isn't much help. I've seen some of the homes built off the ground on supports and would assume the generator would have to be up as well to be of much help.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 07:40 PM   #23
Member
 
BigSquirmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
I'm curious about those areas down there prone to floods. If the generator gets flooded and the water is above the level of the service and most of the wiring, I'm assuming it isn't much help. I've seen some of the homes built off the ground on supports and would assume the generator would have to be up as well to be of much help.
We normally put them 6ft off the ground.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
BigSquirmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2017, 07:41 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,826
Rewards Points: 25,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
I'm curious about those areas down there prone to floods. If the generator gets flooded and the water is above the level of the service and most of the wiring, I'm assuming it isn't much help. I've seen some of the homes built off the ground on supports and would assume the generator would have to be up as well to be of much help.
You just nailed what went wrong at Fukushima.

A multi-billion dollar atomic plant had its back-up gen-set located right near the water -- when it would've been no biggie to locate it up the hillside -- a hundred yards away.

The ONLY thing originally damaged by the tsunami -- was the gen-set. It died.

This led to ALL of the other 'issues.'

TEPCO had no power for the reactor cooling pumps. That's why they fried.

&&&

There is obviously no solution for homes directly swamped.

But there are many, many, many more homes that are on the edge of a given flood that benefit hugely from back-up power.

( And back-flow preventers. )

High winds = trees upon power lines = very annoying power outages.

It's another great sales pitch in 'big tree country.'
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 07:53 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,871
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

QUOTE - Whats the best way to sell the upgrade with the gen?

Cost is usually the best way.
Quote say $1000 for the panel upgrade.
Quote say $500 for the genny instal.
And offer a discount if both together say $1300.

use any figures you want, but you get the idea !


These figures i have just pulled out of the air,
not meant to be reality
just demonstrate a point !

HackWork likes this.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 08:06 PM   #26
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,295
Rewards Points: 1,757
Default

I don't think selling on price is ever the best way.

But it can be used strategically to help nudge sales in some instances, such as this.

Like I said in the other thread, using the old "I could give you a discount if I do the additional work while I am already here" tactic works well, even if you aren't actually giving a discount.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 09:28 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,826
Rewards Points: 25,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I don't think selling on price is ever the best way.

But it can be used strategically to help nudge sales in some instances, such as this.

Like I said in the other thread, using the old "I could give you a discount if I do the additional work while I am already here" tactic works well, even if you aren't actually giving a discount.
Now we're on the same page.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel or main panel Agewon Residential Electrical Forum 12 09-06-2017 09:53 PM
Double panel design question. JohnJ65 Services and Service Equipment 23 07-07-2017 08:19 PM
Feeding a main panel triden Canadian Electrical Forum 13 06-30-2017 08:44 PM
Main panel, subpanel, detatched structure, objectionable current and 3-phase cdw904 Residential Electrical Forum 4 05-10-2017 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com