Change over - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2013, 11:34 PM   #21
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

We could get failed for lack of fittings on the end of the PVC.

We use these

BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BBQ For This Useful Post:
denny3992 (11-16-2013)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2013, 11:42 PM   #22
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,073
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post
We could get failed for lack of fittings on the end of the PVC.

We use these

That's the first thing I noticed, no bell ends. I could understand why, they ain't cheap. I just paid $5 each for 2". Supply house fu*kers are robbing us blind.
DIYer4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 11:45 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ
We could get failed for lack of fittings on the end of the PVC. We use these
A lot of hacks out here. We only use bell ends on vaults.
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2013, 11:58 PM   #24
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,936
Rewards Points: 4,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIYer4Life View Post
That's the first thing I noticed, no bell ends. I could understand why, they ain't cheap. I just paid $5 each for 2". Supply house fu*kers are robbing us blind.
It sounds like you get $hitty pricing for a contractor. The cash price from Platt is $3.53.

https://www.platt.com/platt-electric...spx?zpid=69188
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2013, 11:59 PM   #25
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,610
Rewards Points: 2,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkessler View Post
Again he says this is a special order transformer. No one on his crew has ever seen this set up before.
If the new transformer is a pad-mount, then indeed it is a special order.

Here's why I believe the existing service is a 120/240 3 4 wire ∆ with a high leg;

1) If it's the pole-mount transformers in the background, the center one is larger than the other two. This is very common for 240 4 wire ∆ systems. The larger pot is the two 120 legs, and they are usually loaded more than the high leg. The way the 4 wires come down from the pots is further indication of a ∆ system.

2) The CTs. With a 3 wye, each phase needs to have its own CT. With a 4 wire ∆ system, the two 120 legs can use one CT, but they need to run in opposite directions. The high leg needs its own CT.

Is the transformer for the new underground feed a pad-mount?
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:00 AM   #26
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,936
Rewards Points: 4,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Is the transformer for the new underground feed a pad-mount?
You can see it in the first picture.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:30 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Pole mount transformers are gone.

Here's a pic of the new one only ID tag.
Attached Thumbnails
Change over-image-1389950382.jpg  

__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:33 AM   #28
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,008
Rewards Points: 9,176
Default

Yep, that's one oddball transformer. I bet that cost a pretty penny.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:40 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW
Yep, that's one oddball transformer. I bet that cost a pretty penny.
It's hum did sound nice.....
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:43 AM   #30
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,008
Rewards Points: 9,176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkessler View Post
It's hum did sound nice.....
The poco better hope it never gives up the ghost because I doubt they have one sitting at the shop.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:56 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

And if you look close at the first picture there was a second single phase 240 feed from the 50's entering the building as well that was for a single 150 amp X-Ray machine that had its own meter main.
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:07 AM   #32
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,610
Rewards Points: 2,830
Default

Yep, that's a special order allright!

The full-load current of that transformer is 1202 amps, and the short-circuit current is 30,050.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 01:12 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind
Yep, that's a special order allright! The full-load current of that transformer is 1202 amps, and the short-circuit current is 30,050.

I'm the instally person. All my knowledge on transformers would fit in the end of a 1/4" nut driver.
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bkessler For This Useful Post:
220/221 (11-17-2013)
Old 11-17-2013, 01:49 AM   #34
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,610
Rewards Points: 2,830
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkessler View Post
I'm the instally person. All my knowledge on transformers would fit in the end of a 1/4" nut driver.
Sometimes it pays to know a bit about things like transformers.

Using your installation as an example, I'd bet a lot that the panels in the building have breakers rated at 10,000 AIC (Amps Interrupting Current). I'd also bet a lot that there are more than 10,000 amps of available fault current at said panels.

What this translates into is that if one of those breakers is closed in to a bolted fault (dead short) there's a fair chance that it would explode.

Of course, engineers, contractors, owners, the POCO doesn't like to hear stuff like this.......lol.
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 02:08 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,629
Rewards Points: 4,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bkessler View Post
I'm the instally person. All my knowledge on transformers would fit in the end of a 1/4" nut driver.
Instally person....I like it.

Hey, someone has to pull the plow. Welcome to the club.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 220/221 For This Useful Post:
Bkessler (11-17-2013), micromind (11-17-2013)
Old 11-17-2013, 02:31 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE
Posts: 282
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Had a service to a building in southern IN. It was 120/240 delta. They used a single phase pad mount for the 120/240 and a second pad mount for the wild leg. Must have been open delta. Its all gone now and A 277/480 service from the POCO and A 480 to 120/208 step down transformer inside for the old system.
RandyM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2013, 12:51 PM   #37
Tool Fetish
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 716
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dronai View Post
If the plant is a 3 phase delta service with no neutral, is the high leg still required to be orange ? Working at one now with no marking.
There is NO high leg if there is NO neutral. If you are reading a high leg to ground then the transfomer has a center tap for the neutral. In a old service the neutral might not have been run to the building.The POCO might have connected a ground or the overhead messenger to the neutral point and you are reading it as a neutral. The NEC now requires the neutral, if there is one, to at least be brought to your service disconnect. If there is no neutral tap on the transformer(s) you shouldn't be reading any true voltage to ground, unless one phase leg is grounded. That's another story.
SteveBayshore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Name Change brian john Business, Marketing, and Sales 11 11-11-2011 12:33 PM
oil change paul d. Tools, Equipment and New Products 37 01-30-2010 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com