Changing the RPMs on a 1.2AMP, 120V, 1 phaze 60HZ Motor - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2018, 12:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Berwick Ontario Canada
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Changing the RPMs on a 1.2AMP, 120V, 1 phaze 60HZ Motor

Hi looking for some guidance. I am a cabinet maker, woodworker, I am currently designing a small wood moving art project. I have an old King Scroll Saw and would like to use the variable speed motor in this project. Dilemma I have is the controls for the motor have it's slowest speed at 550rpm up to something like 1450rpm. I would like to if possible change the numbers, by that I mean, my slowest speed becomes 0 and as I turn the dial the rpms increase, do not need it anywhere near 1450rpms, so it doesn't really matters here it tops out at, just won't turn the dial that high. Is this possible, and or what might I need to alter the start up speed to zero.
Dusty is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2018, 12:13 PM   #2
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,958
Rewards Points: 5,502
Default

To alter the speed to ZERO, you need to use the OFF/ON switch.
The rest should work with he variable speed controller attached to the unit.
I doubt a scroll saw would last long at a near zero start up speed. You will be breaking blades quickly.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 04-10-2018, 12:15 PM   #3
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,590
Rewards Points: 2,790
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com.
However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
John Valdes is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to John Valdes For This Useful Post:
The_Modifier (04-10-2018)
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long and what size of wire for a 1HP 110v 1 phase 60HZ motor? 111jag General Electrical Discussion 28 03-21-2018 08:08 PM
Changing a Baldor motor from 240 to 480 HobeComp General Electrical Discussion 12 03-13-2018 09:21 AM
Ammonia compressor motor MadDawg PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 16 01-18-2018 02:44 PM
460V motor on 400V 60HZ? mikey383 PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 6 07-25-2016 04:00 PM
Motor Rotation Changing CheapCharlie PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 5 02-09-2016 11:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com