check this beauty out: - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2015, 06:14 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bobby Dodd Staduim
Posts: 3,426
Rewards Points: 10
Default

That the house I turned you on to?
__________________
"The problem isn't that Hillary Clinton lies. We all know she lies. The problem is that her supporters don't seem to care"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2015, 06:15 PM   #22
Chairman of the Bored
 
BuzzKill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 9,779
Rewards Points: 2,540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
That the house I turned you on to?
Shhh.
__________________
I'd rather be sleeping.
BuzzKill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 06:18 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Big Pickles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 122
Default

Have run from panel to gas line when all plastic water lines in and out.
Big Pickles is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2015, 06:20 PM   #24
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Pickles View Post
Have run from panel to gas line when all plastic water lines in and out.
Water lines have nothing to do with bonding a gas line.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 06:22 PM   #25
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 30,663
Rewards Points: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Pickles View Post
Have run from panel to gas line when all plastic water lines in and out.
Are you saying you used the gas pipe for your grounding electrode, since the water lines were all plastic?
__________________
Libtard logic: It’s okay for people to LOOT in person, but not VOTE in person
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to macmikeman For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (01-25-2015)
Old 01-25-2015, 07:42 PM   #26
Member
 
1.21gigawatts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
There's nothing wrong with bonding a gas pipe from the ground bar in a sub panel.


You missed my point, why would he put an existing #8cu that was inteneded for bonding a gasline from the main loadcenter into his new subpanel. It does nothing as the bonding/grounding is done with the subs feeder.


And as for bonding systems from a sub, what if the sub was 40a mcb with a #10 egc? You still going to run a #8bond to a sub and hope it handles a high fault current ?
1.21gigawatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 07:44 PM   #27
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,896
Rewards Points: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
We're not talking about a bonding jumper.
What are we talking about. Gas pipe has to be bonded and tied to the rest of the system just like water pipe unless there is an equipment grounding conductor at the equipment with gas fuel.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 10:10 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
MHElectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,928
Rewards Points: 46
Default

This gas bonding is so friggin confusing. I don't think any of the inspectors here know whether to enforce it or not, and even less contractors know if it's needed.

So far, it hasn't been enforced in my area, BUT, I have seen some new construction homes done by out-of-towners where a bare copper has been run from the main panel to the gas meter.
__________________
Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.
MHElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MHElectric For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (01-26-2015)
Old 01-25-2015, 10:50 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
icdubois's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 310
Rewards Points: 491
Default

In our area the ahj don't want to gas line or meter to be bonded.
icdubois is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to icdubois For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (01-28-2015)
Old 01-27-2015, 05:39 PM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: gettysburg
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

If there is CSST in the residence then the bond should not have been made there but on the feed (house)side of the meter extended to the main service grounding equipment. But either way I don't think I would have just cut it out.
freeball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 05:41 PM   #31
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freeball View Post
If there is CSST in the residence then the bond should not have been made there but on the feed (house)side of the meter extended to the main service grounding equipment. But either way I don't think I would have just cut it out.
Please prove that. I think you made it up.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 05:45 PM   #32
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,896
Rewards Points: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Please prove that. I think you made it up.
The gas code states the bond is to be made at the point where the gas pipe enters the building. Some take that to mean outside the house. NC just amended that rule to allow bonding anywhere
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
BuzzKill (01-28-2015)
Old 01-27-2015, 05:47 PM   #33
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,896
Rewards Points: 60
Default

Here is the section

Quote:
G2411.1.1 (310.1.1) CSST. Corrugated stainless steel tubing
(CSST) gas piping systems shall be bonded to the electrical
service grounding electrode system at the point where
the gas service enters the building. The bonding jumper
shall be not smaller than 6AWGcopper wire or equivalent.
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
ibew415 (01-27-2015)
Old 01-27-2015, 05:53 PM   #34
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: gettysburg
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

thanx Dennis you beat me to it. I just did that a few months ago on a residence.
freeball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:41 PM   #35
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

It still doesn't say it must be landed in the service.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 06:51 PM   #36
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,896
Rewards Points: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
It still doesn't say it must be landed in the service.
No it says bonded to the electrical service grounding electrode system which is connected back to the service. You cannot take it to a sub panel. It either goes back to the service directly or ties to the GES
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:02 PM   #37
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
It still doesn't say it must be landed in the service.
Do you have your PMs turned off? I cant send you messages regarding this.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:53 PM   #38
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
You cannot take it to a sub panel.
Please check definition of bonding jumper. I think you're wrong.

In my view, it is connected to the grounding electrode system. Through a bonding jumper . No where does it say it must land in the service, it simply days it must be electrically connected, which it would be, landed on the ground bar of a sub panel.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 07:53 PM   #39
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meadow View Post
Do you have your PMs turned off? I cant send you messages regarding this.
I don't think so. I'm not sure how I can tell on my phone either
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 08:03 PM   #40
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
I don't think so. I'm not sure how I can tell on my phone either
That's ok, phones are something else.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Its a beauty Oakey Code Violation Discussion 5 12-16-2014 07:41 PM
ulta beauty flashover General Electrical Discussion 10 07-14-2013 01:14 PM
What a beauty hydro Services and Service Equipment 19 03-04-2013 12:00 PM
Little beauty frank Off Topic (Non Trade) 3 07-20-2010 01:32 PM
Found this beauty... running dummy Code Violation Discussion 30 06-22-2009 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com