circuit breaker finder - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree40Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2011, 09:05 PM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: missouri
Posts: 7,355
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

If you are shutting off breakers that could interupt computers then you better invest in a good tracer not some cheap ideal product.
Mr Rewire is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2011, 09:08 PM   #22
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,094
Rewards Points: 1,492
Default

The 61-954/956/958 are good though.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 09:14 PM   #23
Tabihu Juhar
 
76nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 3,209
Rewards Points: 2,000
Thumbs up






http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...ch&um=1&itbs=1
__________________
"To live outside the Law, you must be honest"~B.Dylan
76nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2011, 09:20 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delmarva, USA
Posts: 2,425
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yonkersliving View Post
.... Now what is a flasher ?
This. Goes into the bottom of a medium base socket. Screw in 60 watt light bulb on top of it, and the amps will vary by on and off on your selected circuit.

scotch likes this.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 09:27 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 690
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Rewire View Post
If you are shutting off breakers that could interupt computers then you better invest in a good tracer not some cheap ideal product.
After using it for at least 5 years it's been extremely accurate and reliable. No point in spending more for something that won't work any better than perfect.
SteveO. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 10:19 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

I have both the cheap one Nemo posted as well as the higher end Ideal 61-956....both work as advertised and well worth the money.

If you're working at a place with multiple panels, and turning off the wrong circuit leads to , then I suggest going for a 61-95* or an equivalent from amprobe, greenlee exc.
jefft110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 10:57 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

If you want something low cost, try this. It does work. Don't ask me how I know!

http://www.harborfreight.com/media/c...mage_13081.jpg
Landmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 11:28 PM   #28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ....
Posts: 627
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jefft110 View Post
I have both the cheap one Nemo posted as well as the higher end Ideal 61-956....both work as advertised and well worth the money.

If you're working at a place with multiple panels, and turning off the wrong circuit leads to , then I suggest going for a 61-95* or an equivalent from amprobe, greenlee exc.
i have two.... a pasar 326B, which is a 20 year old design, and is
still in production, cause it works well. fellow named austin wright
developed them, and the sold it to amprobe, who sold it recently
to fluke.

they used to be about $800. 20 years ago. now that fluke owns
them, they are $1,200 i was gonna sell it when i bought the other
one... but hell, i never sell tools.

second one i bought recently... ideal 61-958, 'cause i needed something
done that it does well, that the pasar didn't do well enough. $1,125

both are excellent, but when i was getting started, the flasher in
lamp socket with a good amprobe will get you there. about $4.

you eventually will want to get a good one if you are gonna do this
on a regular basis. try shutting someones server off accidentally,
and see how much that costs.
user8640521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:38 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
sstlouis03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: West Texas
Posts: 753
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Plug in a corded drill and have your helper hold down the trigger. It should be more then enough yo notice a change in amperage at the panel and I bet almost everyone here has on either on their truck or in their garage. Plain simple and easy to get you out of a bind when you can't just start flipping stuff off.

Sent from my iPhone using ET Forum
sstlouis03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 05:34 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

Do what I hate to do. Come back after hours if their work is critical.Just don't knock off the servers.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 08:13 AM   #31
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: missouri
Posts: 7,355
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO. View Post
After using it for at least 5 years it's been extremely accurate and reliable. No point in spending more for something that won't work any better than perfect.
Statememnts like this remind me of the story of the professional Russian roulett player he had over 500 wins and only one loss.
Mr Rewire is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Rewire For This Useful Post:
Zog (10-19-2011)
Old 04-06-2014, 01:50 PM   #32
Member
 
Miller6386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: MI
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by user8640521 View Post
i have two.... a pasar 326B, which is a 20 year old design, and is
still in production, cause it works well. fellow named austin wright
developed them, and the sold it to amprobe, who sold it recently
to fluke.

they used to be about $800. 20 years ago. now that fluke owns
them, they are $1,200 i was gonna sell it when i bought the other
one... but hell, i never sell tools.

second one i bought recently... ideal 61-958, 'cause i needed something
done that it does well, that the pasar didn't do well enough. $1,125

both are excellent, but when i was getting started, the flasher in
lamp socket with a good amprobe will get you there. about $4.

you eventually will want to get a good one if you are gonna do this
on a regular basis. try shutting someones server off accidentally,
and see how much that costs.

I know I am bringing up ancient threads here.... I bought a cheapo from Home Depot that was less than $20 and has worked OK...

But my real reason for quoting this was what kind of places are you folks working where they don't have a battery backup setup on PC's and servers?? In my shop all of them have a 1 hour battery backup
Miller6386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:21 PM   #33
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,094
Rewards Points: 1,492
Default

All over the place with no battery backup. If they do, who knows what kind of shape its in. Think of it this way, you turn something off you shouldn't, and lose the customer, the cost of that tracer doesn't look so bad now.
Greg Sparkovich likes this.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:25 PM   #34
Member
 
Miller6386's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: MI
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
All over the place with no battery backup. If they do, who knows what kind of shape its in. Think of it this way, you turn something off you shouldn't, and lose the customer, the cost of that tracer doesn't look so bad now.
I agree totally... Even though I am an "In House" tech I guess I haven't been in a place where they didn't have backups... I guess I should feel fortunate that I have 1 less thing to worry about when tinkering in the wiring nightmare I am in LOL
Miller6386 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:29 PM   #35
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,094
Rewards Points: 1,492
Default

Commercial can be every bit as hacky, if not more than resi.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nrp3 For This Useful Post:
dspiffy (04-06-2014)
Old 04-06-2014, 02:31 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 407
Rewards Points: 621
Default

Plug in 2 toasters/heaters/hairdryers and wait 60 seconds. Breaker found (unless it's a FPE, then just narrow in on the melting wire).
Islander likes this.
RFguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RFguy For This Useful Post:
dspiffy (04-06-2014)
Old 04-06-2014, 04:04 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

.....
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 05:24 PM   #38
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,668
Rewards Points: 8,114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miller6386 View Post
But my real reason for quoting this was what kind of places are you folks working where they don't have a battery backup setup on PC's and servers?? In my shop all of them have a 1 hour battery backup
Most big data centers have big ups's that supply the battery back up for multiple panels. They don't have little back-ups on each circuit. If you shut off the wrong breaker in one of those panels the amount of $ lost could have bought a dozen circuit tracers.
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 06:05 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yonkersliving View Post
Cannot turn off main. Or breakers, usually people are on computers so accuracy is a must. I like the flasher since I have an amprobe. Now what is a flasher ?
What is someone else is on a computer sharing the same circuit as the one you must shut down after you find it? Or worse, what if it's a MWBC?
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LawnGuyLandSparky For This Useful Post:
dspiffy (04-06-2014)
Old 04-07-2014, 05:28 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,491
Rewards Points: 864
Default

Every time you turn off a circuit traced or not there is always the issue of turning off other items or possibly the wrong circuit. Generally when I need to turn off power I tell the customer and let them make their own decision. Generally they say go ahead and if there are any issues they have been told beforehand. Something as easy as I need to turn off this circuit is it ok and do you need to shut down any computers etc. generally works.
Greg Sparkovich likes this.
Sparky J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extech 40180 Tone Generator and Amplifier Probe Circuit Finder Kit Sonny1027 General Electrical Discussion 3 10-10-2011 05:33 PM
Looking for a Circuit Breaker JMitch General Electrical Discussion 6 03-12-2011 10:03 AM
vacuum circuit breaker mooyong General Electrical Discussion 5 09-02-2010 11:41 AM
Breaker finder question newhunter Tools, Equipment and New Products 16 08-09-2010 12:32 AM
i need help in circuit breaker!! bird10 General Electrical Discussion 1 08-17-2009 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com