Circuit Mapper - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree66Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2017, 08:37 PM   #41
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Short people got..no body...short people got ...no reason...
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2017, 08:40 PM   #42
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,663
Rewards Points: 11,691
Default

If I'm working for a GC, I tell him I will need a monkey for half an hour. If I am working for an HO, I will ask him if he is interested in helping. Takes no time with two people on cell phones.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 08:46 PM   #43
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

I write it on the NM cable when I drop the homeruns in front of the
panel...don't need the monkey , GC or the midgets
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lighterup For This Useful Post:
Dan the electricman (12-02-2017)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2017, 09:13 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 1,902
Rewards Points: 2,972
Default

Tasco usually deducts a 100.00 from their products, I have bought the inspector and the circuit tracer both at a 100.00 discount
electricguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electricguy For This Useful Post:
telsa (12-02-2017)
Old 12-01-2017, 10:12 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,911
Rewards Points: 1,594
Default

I use to use 3 different tone bells and a bright light on an extension cord, This was in the 70's, sped things up for a one-man service change.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 11:46 PM   #46
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,326
Rewards Points: 1,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
I write it on the NM cable when I drop the homeruns in front of the
panel...don't need the monkey , GC or the midgets
I'm talking about during a panel change on an old house.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 03:51 AM   #47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,831
Rewards Points: 25,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post
I love mine.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to telsa For This Useful Post:
Chris1971 (12-02-2017)
Old 12-02-2017, 03:53 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,831
Rewards Points: 25,908
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
I've done two panel changes in the past month and I didn't label all the circuits. My boss said it wasn't in the budget, so I didn't do it.
The NEC does not say that you have label things perfectly.

'Receptacles and Lights' covers a lot of ground.
electricguy likes this.

Last edited by telsa; 12-02-2017 at 04:10 AM.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 06:28 AM   #49
Ambassador of Amps
 
TOOL_5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: sf bay area, CA
Posts: 9,518
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

This thread is dildos.
__________________
Advertising space available. Inquire within.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TOOL_5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:30 AM   #50
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,326
Rewards Points: 1,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by telsa View Post
The NEC does not say that you have label things perfectly.

'Receptacles and Lights' covers a lot of ground.
Why do you make me disagree with you??? I think you do it on purpose.

Quote:
408.4 Field Identification Required.
(A) Circuit Directory or Circuit Identification. Every
circuit and circuit modification shall be legibly identified as
to its clear, evident, and specific purpose or use. The identification
shall include an approved degree of detail that
allows each circuit to be distinguished from all others.

Spare positions that contain unused overcurrent devices or
switches shall be described accordingly. The identification
shall be included in a circuit directory that is located on the
face or inside of the panel door in the case of a panelboard
and at each switch or circuit breaker in a switchboard or
switchgear. No circuit shall be described in a manner that
depends on transient conditions of occupancy.
The code is very clear, labelling 25 circuits "Receptacles and Lights" will NOT work. You have to provide better detail as to where those receptacles and lights are in order to be able to distinguish them from all the others.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:37 AM   #51
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,663
Rewards Points: 11,691
Default

Since when did you get OCD over code, Hacksy?

Use a jobsite radio with the volume on max.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:40 AM   #52
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,326
Rewards Points: 1,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Since when did you get OCD over code, Hacksy?
Jesus, OCD?

Did you not read any of the thread in which we discussed how this is a code requirement that the inspector is going to want to see? I just want to pass inspection, and labelling every circuit "Receptacles and Lights" would fail.

Quote:
Use a jobsite radio with the volume on max.
Again, we discussed this. At the very minimum that would be an average of 25 trips up and down 1-2 stories. A waste of time and energy, especially for a lazy person.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:47 AM   #53
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Jesus, OCD?

Did you not read any of the thread in which we discussed how this is a code requirement that the inspector is going to want to see? I just want to pass inspection, and labelling every circuit "Receptacles and Lights" would fail.


Again, we discussed this. At the very minimum that would be an average of 25 trips up and down 1-2 stories. A waste of time and energy, especially for a lazy person.
The panel stickers don't have very much room on them , so I
made a record of what was what , took it home and typed it
up on a piece of paper , went back to the job and taped it to
the backside of the door and guess what happened.
The fricking inspector said I was not allowed to cover the door!
Now that s**t made me mad!
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:55 AM   #54
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,326
Rewards Points: 1,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
The panel stickers don't have very much room on them , so I
made a record of what was what , took it home and typed it
up on a piece of paper , went back to the job and taped it to
the backside of the door and guess what happened.
The fricking inspector said I was not allowed to cover the door!
Now that s**t made me mad!
Too many idiot inspectors out there. Yu went above and beyond and they still look for something to bitch about.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 09:02 AM   #55
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Too many idiot inspectors out there. Yu went above and beyond and they still look for something to bitch about.
Not to derail this thread , but between inconsistencies in inspection
departments and afci's , I have been very close to leaving this trade
numerous times.

Also inconsistencies in code instructors as well.
NDC likes this.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 09:02 AM   #56
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,663
Rewards Points: 11,691
Default

Inspector arrives. I tell him I'm all done, just working on the panel directory. He gives me green sticker and leaves. I fill in the blanks with "Plugs and Lights".
The_Modifier and NDC like this.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 09:15 AM   #57
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,326
Rewards Points: 1,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Inspector arrives. I tell him I'm all done, just working on the panel directory. He gives me green sticker and leaves. I fill in the blanks with "Plugs and Lights".
I really don't care what you do, since you are just trying to find ways to say that the device we want is unnecessary.

I don't have time to go back to a job and wait 3-6 hours for an inspector on every panel change that I do. There is no reason for me to be there.

BTW, calling receptacles "plugs" is what homeowners and handimen do.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 09:19 AM   #58
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,663
Rewards Points: 11,691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I really don't care what you do, since you are just trying to find ways to say that the device we want is unnecessary.

I don't have time to go back to a job and wait 3-6 hours for an inspector on every panel change that I do. There is no reason for me to be there.

BTW, calling receptacles "plugs" is what homeowners and handimen do.
"Receptacles" is too long a word to fit on a panel sched.
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 09:27 AM   #59
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,326
Rewards Points: 1,819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
"Receptacles" is too long a word to fit on a panel sched.
How about Outlet or RCPT like real electrician write?
brian john and PokeySmokey like this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 09:47 AM   #60
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,911
Rewards Points: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
A panel change is a 1 man job, except for the stupid part in which it needs to be labeled (screw you CMP!!!). The houses here all have the panels in the basement and 2 floors above so running back and forth isn't an option.

So I am exploring the circuit mapper options again.

Does anyone use one? Does it really work?

Based on this thread I just bought one I'll let you know how it works out.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit Mapper HackWork Tools, Equipment and New Products 25 02-07-2019 11:22 AM
Points per circuit (LED's) meggerman Canadian Electrical Forum 36 08-23-2016 07:27 PM
New sump pump receptacle on an old circuit. Mugs Canadian Electrical Forum 14 07-30-2016 10:30 PM
Arc fault option Anathera General Electrical Discussion 175 07-08-2016 06:35 PM
Combining circuit types in a conduit dkone NEC Code Forum 15 05-20-2016 06:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com