CNC mill getting low voltage warning..... - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2015, 12:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 67
Default CNC mill getting low voltage warning.....

Trying to troubleshoot a cnc mill in a machine shop. It is getting a low voltage warning. The panel is a 120/208v 3ph. The feed to the panel reads 200 volts ph to ph with less than half of the panel load running. The mill is another 40-50 feet away fed with #10 mc cable on a 3 pole 30 amp breaker. The mill fla is 30 amps at I think 240 volt 3ph. The owner thinks a buck boost transformer will boost the voltage. Where would you guys begin?
Jonl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2015, 12:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NOYB
Posts: 4,665
Rewards Points: 4
Default

I'd start by finding out why the feed to the panel is so low.

Buck/boost is a band-aid fix and since the panel feed is on the low side with "less than half the panel load running" you have a problem somewhere in that feeder.

What is the voltage with NO load on the panel?
What is the voltage with all the normal loads running?

You need to dig deeper and find the real issue before spending buck on transformers.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to guest For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-08-2015), hardworkingstiff (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 12:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 67
Default

I looked back through my pics.
Here is the name plate of the mill. I also have a pic of the 1st smaller panel, and 2nd larger panel where the mill is fed from. The electrical has been pieced together poorly. The feed to the 1st panel looks to be 100 amps. I go there tomorrow morning and will check the feeder breaker from the gear. The owner did say a previous electrician said the connections looked really bad, and that was 4 years ago.
Attached Thumbnails
CNC mill getting low voltage warning.....-20140618_081245.jpg   CNC mill getting low voltage warning.....-20140624_094353.jpg   CNC mill getting low voltage warning.....-20140618_082206.jpg  
Jonl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2015, 01:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 12,167
Rewards Points: 14,714
Default

Buck Boost is a good way to bring 208 up to 240 for the motor, but getting the voltage from 200 up to 208 is better served with having an adequate electrical distribution system.

What is the incoming voltage at the service disconnect? How much does the voltage drop from no load to loaded?
__________________
Three vastly different enemies, but enemies who shared one common trait. ALL of them stifle free speech. All of them bully, degrade and terrorize those who hold opposing views and who peacefully express them. All of them are intolerant and demand “loyalty” to the leader. Michael Sand
hardworkingstiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 01:15 PM   #5
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

He still needs a buck boost no matter what. That's a 240 volt machine
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 01:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 67
Default

Sorry guys I was mistaken, It's rated at 220 volt. I will check the load, no load voltage at the service disconnect tomorrow, then compare with the lugs at the top of the panel.
Jonl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 02:51 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonl View Post
Sorry guys I was mistaken, It's rated at 220 volt. I will check the load, no load voltage at the service disconnect tomorrow, then compare with the lugs at the top of the panel.
That's nominal voltage, it needs to be attached to a 240 volt high leg delta, or you need a buck boost.

Last edited by rookie sparky; 02-08-2015 at 02:52 PM.
rookie sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 07:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,939
Rewards Points: 1,512
Default

Why is your so called 208 reading only 200 ?
With normal or little load it should be very close to,or higher than this figure !
Check out all connections and switch gear
And also measure your main service drop voltage
if it's already low here then it's poco's problem

.....

Last edited by guest; 02-08-2015 at 09:52 PM. Reason: Removed snarky remark
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 07:59 PM   #9
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

All good advice ......

For all you know......this guy could be one of the best construction electricians you have ever met and has little to no experience with troubleshooting equipment after the installation.

Check your voltages with and without load at every point you can find that feeds to the CNC mill. It could be low directly from the POCO.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.

Last edited by guest; 02-08-2015 at 09:55 PM. Reason: Removed reply to snarky remark
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Rollie73 For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-08-2015), guest (02-08-2015), mcclary's electrical (02-08-2015), micromind (02-08-2015), Rick567 (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 08:09 PM   #10
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Why is your so called 208 reading only 200 ?
With normal or little load it should be very close to,or higher than this figure !
Check out all connections and switch gear
And also measure your main service drop voltage
if it's already low here then it's poco's problem
...... 200 volts is still well within nema guidelines of our infrastuture and nominal voltage. .........

His problem is he's running a240 volt machine on 208

Last edited by guest; 02-08-2015 at 09:56 PM. Reason: Edited quote and part of this post..Knock off the snarky comments please.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
Rollie73 (02-08-2015), samgregger (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 08:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

That machine is rated 208-240 volts 3 Phase.
Read page 19 of the owner's manual. Southwestern Industries TRAK DPMV3.
http://www.southwesternindustries.co...949_Manual.pdf
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 08:50 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
wendon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsiberia
Posts: 9,327
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Does your machine have a control xfmr? If it does, what tap is the primary and/or the secondary connected to?
See section 4.8.6
__________________
Saving the world, one backstabbed receptacle at a time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by wendon; 02-08-2015 at 08:57 PM.
wendon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 08:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Which Fault Code are you getting?
Are you getting Fault Code 9?
from the owner's manual:

"Code 9 - DC link under voltage: The power drive module will report under voltage conditions. If an under voltage condition exists, the power drive module will shut down the output and report fault condition "9". The under voltage trip point is 170VDC for 230VAC power drive modules. These voltages are set in the hardware. Check the DC voltage across the terminals labeled B- and B+. At 230 volts the DC voltage should be approximately 300 VDC."

What is your DC voltage? Is it possible that the DC power supply is putting out low voltage or is failing?
__________________
Greg

Last edited by 3DDesign; 02-08-2015 at 09:03 PM.
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 08:58 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Another possibility - According to the owner's manual, it will run on 208 volts. You have 200 volts, find out why.
Since the variable is 208 - 240, anything under 208 V may be throwing the Code.

In the owner's manual read section 3.3.6 System Will Not Turn On or Boot-Up also read section 4.8
__________________
Greg

Last edited by 3DDesign; 02-08-2015 at 09:34 PM.
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 3DDesign For This Useful Post:
guest (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 09:40 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Page 67:
"Note: systems running consistently close to the high or low values may have problems when normal voltage fluctuations push the voltage out of the acceptable range.
Our system is shipped out assuming the customers shop has 220 V power. The transformer secondary tap is set on 115 volts. Measure the voltage coming out of the transformer by placing the voltmeter across the 115 V and 0 V taps. If this measurement is above 120 volts then move the tap from 115 V to 110 V. If the reading is low, 110 V or below, then change the tap from 115 V to 124 V. Input power to the machine that is 230 V

WARNING!
Do not plug and unplug connectors with the system power on. This may cause damage to the connector board and harm to the technician.
TRAK DPM V3, V5 & V7 Safety, Installation, Maintenance, Service & Parts List
or above will cause the 110 voltage to be high and voltage that is 208 V or below typically causes 110 voltage to be low."
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 3DDesign For This Useful Post:
guest (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 10:01 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NOYB
Posts: 4,665
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Ok guys, enough of the ragging in here...next person to post any more smart ass commentary is going on vacation.

If anyone has reason to question anyone's qualifications, REPORT THE POST IN QUESTION AND DO NOT POST YOUR DOUBTS ON A THREAD.

As Rollie73 pointed out, the OP may not have much experience at troubleshooting, not everyone has the "electron whisperer" genes.

Offer constructive help to the OP or keep your trap shut.
guest is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to guest For This Useful Post:
hardworkingstiff (02-09-2015), seige (02-10-2015), wendon (02-09-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 11:12 PM   #17
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxslick View Post
Ok guys, enough of the ragging in here...next person to post any more smart ass commentary is going on vacation.

If anyone has reason to question anyone's qualifications, REPORT THE POST IN QUESTION AND DO NOT POST YOUR DOUBTS ON A THREAD.

As Rollie73 pointed out, the OP may not have much experience at troubleshooting, not everyone has the "electron whisperer" genes.

Offer constructive help to the OP or keep your trap shut.
Exactly where I was going with my comment which you so graciously edited for me.

Its completely out of hand on this forum. Practically every time a new member comes on the forum he/she is greeted with some form of arrogant remark.

Lets get the new members used to this place and make them feel comfortable and at home on the forum before we start being a$$holes to them
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 11:21 PM   #18
Premium Member
 
dronai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 7,281
Rewards Points: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollie73 View Post
Lets get the new members used to this place and make them feel comfortable and at home on the forum before we start being a$$holes to them
^

I can't see 240V on the nameplate ? McClary see's it somewhere, or is he assuming it wouldn't give a low voltage indicator if it was only 208V ?
dronai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 12:24 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: CA
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 67
Default

Wow, I appreciate all the responses, thanks guys. I will check it out tomorrow using all of your recommendations. Btw, I zoomed in on the name plate and says 220v.
Jonl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 12:39 AM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
wendon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsiberia
Posts: 9,327
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mxslick View Post
Ok guys, enough of the ragging in here...next person to post any more smart ass commentary is going on vacation.

If anyone has reason to question anyone's qualifications, REPORT THE POST IN QUESTION AND DO NOT POST YOUR DOUBTS ON A THREAD.

As Rollie73 pointed out, the OP may not have much experience at troubleshooting, not everyone has the "electron whisperer" genes.

Offer constructive help to the OP or keep your trap shut.
I'm sorry if I in any way, shape or form "ragged" on the OP or brought into question his intelligence. I promise to share with him my winnings from the Publishers Clearing House when UPS finally delivers it as was promised me last week. Whoops! I think I might have just posted a smart *** comment.
See ya!
__________________
Saving the world, one backstabbed receptacle at a time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wendon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wendon For This Useful Post:
Rollie73 (02-09-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low voltage and medium voltage devices sharing same enclusure AFE NEC Code Forum 12 05-20-2012 12:25 PM
minimum depth of burried low voltage and high voltage canada lortech NEC Code Forum 4 05-11-2012 09:05 PM
Low voltage or line voltage landscape lighting raider1 General Electrical Discussion 14 07-30-2011 07:10 AM
Typical low voltage guy asking high voltage question. LARMGUY General Electrical Discussion 13 09-02-2010 01:59 AM
Working with high voltage (warning, graphic) FAST LS1 General Electrical Discussion 39 05-24-2008 09:35 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com