Commercial island receps - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By 3DDesign
  • 1 Post By HackWork
  • 2 Post By backstay
  • 1 Post By FF301
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2017, 09:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: PA
Posts: 267
Rewards Points: 536
Default Commercial island receps

I need to install receptacles in or on an island in a commercial kitchen. What is the right way to do this? Is there is surface mount box for this? I think it would look better and be more accessible to have them on the countertop, but need ideas.
John M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2017, 09:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,540
Rewards Points: 3,072
Default

You're not giving any details on the island, a photo would help. Is it stainless steel?
Maybe something like this?

Dash Dingo likes this.
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 10:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Dash Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 707
Rewards Points: 318
Default

In the past I have used the appropriate size Minnie's and clamped them to the round stainless table leg. Then stuck a 1/4 bolt through them and mounted a outdoor bell box to it or 1900 box. That's if the feed comes through the floor.
If the feed is through a ceiling tile I have just dropped soow cord and used a bell box and strain relief.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dash Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2017, 11:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,819
Rewards Points: 25,884
Default

In a Commercial Kitchen the usual solution is for Woodhead cord drops from the ceiling.

While not cheap to buy, they are easy to install and maintain.

They make the Food Inspector very happy.

Unlike your own kitchen, a commercial kitchen requires wash--down rated everythings.

That's why stainless steel is mandated... why you have to use Minnerallac straps to set off surface mounted EMT/ IMC... why GFI protection is required... and much more.

These are NOT cheap rooms to build.

The Woodhead cord drops are usually on a reel that has stops on the cord... in-use and retracted.

They will typically have integral caps, see the website, that exclude water during wash down.

The assumption here being that the central table is exactly where most of the food prep will occur.

You'll see this set up with butcher shops just about everywhere.

The OP does not mention anything being exotic, but Woodhead provides pin&sleeve and twist-lock pin-outs, too.

These have the terrific advantage of being much more robust, and of providing 'keyed' voltages// amps.

The problem with twist-locks is that the gorillas and chimps ruin them before they discover that such a beast even exists. Chimps usually comprise the entire wash down crew. Turn-over is staggering.

This means that, once they've ruined the connection, again, the cord set is ruined, again.

Hence, the pin&sleeve pair will prove out to be the cheapest most reliable connection. It's chimp proof. ( But not gorilla proof. )

It's common for such cord caps to be mounted with Woodhead stainless steel strain reliefs, too.

All of the 'cheaper solutions' crap out faster than you can possibly imagine.

Then the kitchen is out of action.... so the chimps start roping zip cord all over the joint.

The typical cutting// prep table only needs two power drops, so they're not going to break the bank.

http://www.molex.com/molex/industry/...nel=Industries
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 06:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: PA
Posts: 267
Rewards Points: 536
Default

This is a regular cabinet base with a granite top
John M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 06:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,819
Rewards Points: 25,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. View Post
This is a regular cabinet base with a granite top
Commercial kitchens are held to an entirely different standard than a home kitchen.

Don't assume that the owner knows what he's doing.

Many guys jump into the restaurant game... only to discover they've no clue as to the Health Inspector's requirements.

Your post implies that this is your first commercial kitchen.

It's going to be an education.

The grocery chains and major franchises have tons of blow by blow contract specifics for such spaces.

If you have the nerve to ask, most grocers will let you look at their freezers, cold boxes and cutting rooms. It will prove an eye-opening experience.

Bring your smart phone// digital camera.

If there really was a cheaper way to build out these spaces, they would've done so.

They don't miss a trick... and they may well build a new store about every four-days !

Last edited by telsa; 07-04-2017 at 07:20 AM.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 06:54 AM   #7
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,038
Rewards Points: 956
Default

I'd have to look in the book, but I'm guessing not required unless whoever writes the checks says they want them. As with residential kitchens, getting receptacles into islands and peninsulas can be an adventure.

Been using these of late:

http://www.legrand.us/wiremold/work-...ip-up-usb.aspx
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 07:28 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,819
Rewards Points: 25,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
I'd have to look in the book, but I'm guessing not required unless whoever writes the checks says they want them. As with residential kitchens, getting receptacles into islands and peninsulas can be an adventure.

Been using these of late:

http://www.legrand.us/wiremold/work-...ip-up-usb.aspx
The AHJ that counts is the Health Inspector.

FORGET the NEC.

NRP3... I'd be astounded if any health inspector accepted the LeGrand solution.

You can't get it clean.

Not to the standards required.

It's the kind of gadget I can see installed in a McMansion and its granite counter top, though.

Commercial kitchens are cleaned by chimps, not %$#@ retentive housewives.

The authorities know that.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 07:29 AM   #9
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,236
Rewards Points: 1,639
Default

Why not just pray and let god handle it for you?
dielectricunion likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 07:31 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,819
Rewards Points: 25,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
Why not just pray and let god handle it for you?
But, it's the Seventh day, and you're resting.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 07:38 AM   #11
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,038
Rewards Points: 956
Default

I buy into the washdown thing and yes I spend my kitchen time with folks willing to spend those kinds of dollars, not the commercial kind. I like the cord drop idea, I'll remember that if I'm asked.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 10:14 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mn
Posts: 12,376
Rewards Points: 296
Default

I'd be surprised if granite is allowed as a work surface in a commercial kitchen.
frenchelectrican and telsa like this.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 11:52 AM   #13
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,038
Rewards Points: 956
Default

For all I know this is where the cash register is.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 07:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 354
Rewards Points: 44
Default

Culinary class room we built last summer
Attached Thumbnails
Commercial island receps-img_1259_1499209501592.jpg  

Commercial island receps-img_1263_1499209549366.jpg  

splatz likes this.
FF301 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FF301 For This Useful Post:
telsa (07-05-2017)
Old 07-04-2017, 08:03 PM   #15
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. View Post
This is a regular cabinet base with a granite top
That is pretty rare in commercal Kitchen location .,,

the only time I do see it .,, if it was casher location but most place will say super smooth countertop useally stainless steel.

( it our code too have stainless steel countertops over here too in commercal kitchens )
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
telsa (07-05-2017)
Old 07-04-2017, 08:10 PM   #16
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,319
Rewards Points: 4,028
Default

I saw a really old commercial kitchen, it was actually a candy store where they made the chocolates, they had big granite tables, actually they might have been marble, they'd pour the fudge on there so it would cool fast or something.

They closed the place and they told me they cracked up the tabletops with a sledgehammer and left them at the curb to be hauled off. Cracked up the 100 year old frames from the tables and burned them in 55 gallon drums.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 08:20 PM   #17
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Unless you are going to bring conduit up from below or drop down from above you are stuck with cord drops.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MechanicalDVR For This Useful Post:
telsa (07-05-2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Residential Journeyman looking for commercial work in Washington State/Seattle area Hanford43 Looking For Work 2 08-21-2017 01:44 AM
Being charged commercial utility rates for home base ewing Business, Marketing, and Sales 22 04-22-2017 12:54 PM
Residential to Commercial electrician besc Commercial Electrical Forum 18 09-19-2016 09:11 AM
Commercial Electrical Estimator Jason Jones Commercial Electrical Forum 24 08-05-2016 10:43 PM
Do I need to have a commercial driver's license or even a simple driver's license... nadogger General Electrical Discussion 77 06-04-2016 10:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com