Compliant or not - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default Compliant or not

I'm having trouble with inspector telling me my one line diagram is incorrect and can not install transfer switch in this manner. Please take a look and no need to look at wire sizes or pipe sizes that is ok. He is telling me that the 400 Amp TS can not be used?
Attached Thumbnails
Compliant or not-image-2915085538.jpg  

Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 06:25 PM   #2
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

400 amp main breaker ATS ? If so your panels need overcurrent protection( main breaker panels)
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Oops, 240.21.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chris Kennedy For This Useful Post:
wildleg (02-28-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2013, 06:30 PM   #4
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

I think maybe he thinks you need a 400A main disco (in front of the trough or at each supply), which is what I would probably do, but as far as I can tell, if the load calc is correct it should be fine (3 mains) (as long as the tap rules are followed) (I am assuming there is not 400A fusing in your ATS -that would be something I haven't seen)
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc
400 amp main breaker ATS ? If so your panels need overcurrent protection( main breaker panels)
Yes the panels are main breakers and the TS will have a 400 Amp breaker in it as well. He is telling me that I need a 350 Amp breaker
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:35 PM   #6
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Kennedy View Post
Oops, 240.21.
ah, that makes sense - the tap conductors don't have overcurrent protection.

thanks
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:36 PM   #7
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 12,048
Rewards Points: 5,680
Default

I don't see any isolation to the ATS.
Supply, Main distribution then you feed the ATS.
ATS only feeds necessary loads. Load shed option if needed and approved.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:40 PM   #8
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
Yes the panels are main breakers and the TS will have a 400 Amp breaker in it as well. He is telling me that I need a 350 Amp breaker
What' feeding it? parrallel 4/0 als? They had me drop fusing to 350 on a 400 amp for that reason.I see you have 350 cu after the meter, He could be basing it on the 320 pan if not the latteral size. I take it it is not residential.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?

Last edited by Shockdoc; 02-28-2013 at 06:42 PM.
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildleg

ah, that makes sense - the tap conductors don't have overcurrent protection.

thanks
Tap conductors are less then 10 feet long
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:42 PM   #10
Rest In Peace
 
aftershockews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 6,298
Rewards Points: 7,003
Default

I am not going to turn my head 90 degrees to the right to read that schematic.
aftershockews is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to aftershockews For This Useful Post:
Wirenuting (02-28-2013)
Old 02-28-2013, 06:44 PM   #11
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 12,048
Rewards Points: 5,680
Default

Is this kind of what he wants to see in a 1 line format?
Attached Thumbnails
Compliant or not-image-2302515825.jpg  

__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:44 PM   #12
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Even at 350, those feeders would be overfused, so how does the tap rule come into play here?
__________________
Too soon, Black Dog... way too soon...Rock on buddy.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xdad View Post
Even at 350, those feeders would be overfused,
240.4(B)

I agree with the inspector, 350A max.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:48 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xdad
Even at 350, those feeders would be overfused, so how does the tap rule come into play here?
Over current protection is coming from main breaker panels and TS is serving as disco.
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:58 PM   #15
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,547
Rewards Points: 1,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xdad View Post
Even at 350, those feeders would be overfused, so how does the tap rule come into play here?
I agree, the trough conductors should be 400s if they are going to be tapped
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:02 PM   #16
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

i like the PV setup on the bottom left.

__________________
Too soon, Black Dog... way too soon...Rock on buddy.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:06 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Chris Kennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Miami Fla.
Posts: 2,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xdad View Post
i like the PV setup on the bottom left.
The sun is dieing a slow death, why the happy face?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Chris Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chris Kennedy For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (02-28-2013)
Old 02-28-2013, 07:09 PM   #18
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Gamit, Table 310.15 , 350 mcm is rated for 350 amps, 500 mcm would be the size wire used
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:13 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 864
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shockdoc
Gamit, Table 310.15 , 350 mcm is rated for 350 amps, 500 mcm would be the size wire used
This is residential and the 350,s are should be fine considering the max possible load is 350 Amps.
Gamit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:15 PM   #20
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamit View Post
This is residential and the 350,s are should be fine considering the max possible load is 350 Amps.
But the OCP is 400 and the wire needs to be sized to the main OCPD.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Shockdoc For This Useful Post:
JohnR (02-28-2013)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this code compliant? Hexamexapex Residential Electrical Forum 11 02-26-2013 09:18 PM
Code compliant? Gamit General Electrical Discussion 9 02-22-2013 08:52 PM
Is this compliant? butcher733 General Electrical Discussion 6 12-24-2012 11:08 AM
Compliant? GEORGE D NEC Code Forum 12 11-16-2012 10:15 PM
Is this compliant? electures NEC Code Forum 10 06-27-2011 02:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com