Creative way to hang an outlet - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By backstay
  • 1 Post By Shaneyj
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2017, 10:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default Creative way to hang an outlet

Minor repairs and testing at a Harvey-ized home.
Found this beauty.
Honorable mention: 3 hidden tape balls.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2017, 10:29 PM   #2
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,978
Rewards Points: 16,315
Default

I did that one. Using my Passload nail gun. And a potato.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 11:47 PM   #3
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,004
Rewards Points: 1,966
Default

What is the process for testing everything electrical-wise? I'd imagine quite a bit would have to be replaced after being submerged. Obviously that recept has rusted so new devices and wire nuts, but how do you handle the romex?
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-16-2017, 11:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mn
Posts: 12,376
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Submerged romex is no good, pull it.
MechanicalDVR and telsa like this.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 12:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt1124 View Post
What is the process for testing everything electrical-wise? I'd imagine quite a bit would have to be replaced after being submerged. Obviously that recept has rusted so new devices and wire nuts, but how do you handle the romex?
Replace all submerged devices. Megged all circuits. 2 bad out of 40.
As backstay said, we'll be replacing any romex that was submerged.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 12:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by backstay View Post
Submerged romex is no good, pull it.
Any idea how much? We are replacing cables that were submerged...
But I would think there may have been some wicking action.
Or is this a see for myself and figure it out?

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 03:25 AM   #7
Magic Smoke Remover
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,004
Rewards Points: 1,966
Default

What are you megging? Intact circuits that didn't get submerged?
matt1124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 07:34 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 636
Rewards Points: 48
Default

I've done some flood work. Definitely get rid of any wire that was submerged. If the end was in the water it wicked up the wire, and if there was any nick in a loop that was under water same thing. Jraef has some technical documents on the proper way to deal with flooded equipment. I'm not sure if he posted them here or not.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 09:17 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt1124 View Post
What are you megging? Intact circuits that didn't get submerged?
We megged every circuit. Submerged or not.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
MechanicalDVR likes this.
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 09:18 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston area
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
I've done some flood work. Definitely get rid of any wire that was submerged. If the end was in the water it wicked up the wire, and if there was any nick in a loop that was under water same thing. Jraef has some technical documents on the proper way to deal with flooded equipment. I'm not sure if he posted them here or not.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
OK... I did read the docs that Jraef posted.

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
Shaneyj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 02:52 PM   #11
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,301
Rewards Points: 1,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaneyj View Post
Any idea how much? We are replacing cables that were submerged...
But I would think there may have been some wicking action.
Or is this a see for myself and figure it out?

Sent from my HTC6545LVW using Tapatalk
2' higher than the highest water level was the way to go at one time, not sure if that has been changed by now.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a range outlet for 120V NDC Canadian Electrical Forum 38 09-14-2017 05:22 PM
Running outlet off exsisting one COwboys518 General Electrical Discussion 5 03-02-2017 06:55 PM
Arc fault option Anathera General Electrical Discussion 175 07-08-2016 06:35 PM
Troubleshooting outlet not working 3DDesign General Electrical Discussion 17 06-17-2016 06:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com