Delta Supply and star generator - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By frenchelectrican
  • 3 Post By micromind
  • 2 Post By micromind
  • 1 Post By brian john
  • 1 Post By frenchelectrican

Old 03-25-2018, 08:08 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 34
Default Delta Supply and star generator

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to this field of electrical design. In my current assignment I am working on the upgrade of some old water treatment plants with new equipment. The supply coming to one of the site is delta connected (verified from local hydro). In my design I am using a transfer switch and plan to connect a backup diesel generator to it.
My question is
(1)Does it matter if generator is star connected?
(2)Other new loads would include a pump, few heaters and a SPD. Does delta supply affect them?
(3)Do I need to contact hydro and ask them to upgrade the supply to a star? since generator is already purchased.

Any help in this regard is much appreciated. Please explain in detail since I am newbie.

-haiderster
haiderster is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE