The Difference Between Amps and Watts - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree33Likes
  • 12 Post By CoolWill
  • 5 Post By HackWork
  • 2 Post By CoolWill
  • 1 Post By joebanana
  • 1 Post By CoolWill
  • 2 Post By Dan the electricman
  • 6 Post By Gnome
  • 2 Post By cuba_pete
  • 1 Post By MikeFL
  • 1 Post By CoolWill
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2020, 06:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 4,676
Rewards Points: 554
Default The Difference Between Amps and Watts

A small manufacturing plant I sometimes work for called and needed "A 65 amp, 240 volt 3 phase circuit" for a machine being moved from another plant. No problem. I put the circuit in last Thursday. Machine is onsite and the mechanics have put it together now. BUT! The maintenance head calls and we have a conversation:

Him: "The mechanic says this wire is too small."
Me: "Not if 65 amps is what you need. How many amps did you want?"
Him: "65. But he's saying the wire can't carry it"
Me: "Horse poop."
Him: "Ok. I'll let him know."

5 minutes later...

Him: "Hey.. there's a small error in the info we received on the machine."
Me: "Like what?"
Him: "Well... It needs 65 kilowatts, not amps. What do we need to do?"
Me: "$$$$$$$$$"

It pays to learn those pesky units of measure
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2020, 06:16 PM   #2
No Longer Here
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 39,206
Rewards Points: 578
Default

It’s your fault for not using Travis’s stereo system example to explain this stuff to them in the first place.
HackWork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 06:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 896
Rewards Points: 60
Default

That's funny. This morning I had a guy tell me that he might replace his parts washer (120v 15A) with a 240V unit that is 2000A. That one was obvious as he only has a 200A single phase service in his shop.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2020, 06:26 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 4,676
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
That's funny. This morning I had a guy tell me that he might replace his parts washer (120v 15A) with a 240V unit that is 2000A. That one was obvious as he only has a 200A single phase service in his shop.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
Don't sell yourself short. That's a good opportunity to sell a service upgrade.
joebanana and MikeFL like this.
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 07:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 4,158
Rewards Points: 8,259
Default

Well, if he has a 1kv. service, 65a. would do.
CoolWill likes this.
__________________
-------------------------------
~ She thinks I'm crazy, but I'm just growing old~
joebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 07:40 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 4,676
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joebanana View Post
Well, if he has a 1kv. service, 65a. would do.
I'll bring that up at the meeting.
joebanana likes this.
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 07:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
460 Delta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Southern Ohio
Posts: 1,428
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
It’s your fault for not using Travis’s stereo system example to explain this stuff to them in the first place.
Can we get a mod to make that a sticky? I think it would be a good help.
__________________
Overkill Is Underrated
460 Delta is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 08:12 PM   #8
Dope-less Hope Fiend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 610
Rewards Points: 868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
Him: "Hey.. there's a small error in the info we received on the machine."
Me: "Like what?"
Him: "Well... It needs 65 kilowatts, not amps. What do we need to do?"
Me: "$$$$$$$$$"
When I read this I laughed out loud!
cuba_pete and CoolWill like this.
__________________
Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!
Dan the electricman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 09:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 896
Rewards Points: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolWill View Post
Don't sell yourself short. That's a good opportunity to sell a service upgrade.
I actually just got done roughing in his new shop. He was leasing space and now will have his own building. This was info he was giving me on one of his machines.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk
Forge Boyz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 02:14 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 505
Rewards Points: 973
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forge Boyz View Post
That's funny. This morning I had a guy tell me that he might replace his parts washer (120v 15A) with a 240V unit that is 2000A. That one was obvious as he only has a 200A single phase service in his shop.

You could do some serious washing with a 400hp parts washer.
Gnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 12:26 PM   #11
Just trying to get home
 
cuba_pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,937
Rewards Points: 3,613
Default

I thought when a "design specialist" told me that they need 5,000kW and it turned out to be 5,000W was bad. I asked for the installation specs for myself and just shook my head. They actually tried to push back, several times.

mpoulton and Kevin_Essiambre like this.
__________________
To build a cenotaph, you must first choose a million victims
cuba_pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:17 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 6,029
Rewards Points: 958
Default

Charge large and take it to the bank. Don't look back.
CoolWill likes this.
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS Timers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(833) GPS-TIME
MikeFL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:26 PM   #13
Beam Me Up Scotty
 
Kevin_Essiambre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,139
Rewards Points: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnome View Post
You could do some serious washing with a 400hp parts washer.
Thats called waterjet cutting... of which I've been looking into buying for no other reason right now than "hey, that's cool, I want one!".
__________________
Vote Kevin for Moderator!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kevin_Essiambre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 05:41 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 4,676
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Essiambre View Post
Thats called waterjet cutting... of which I've been looking into buying for no other reason right now than "hey, that's cool, I want one!".
"Parts disintegrator"
Kevin_Essiambre likes this.
CoolWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com