Different Hot tub wiring. - Page 3 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2017, 12:30 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,134
Default

Was going to put the two gfci breakers and just mount a wp box with two switches but panel was jammed full and had to add tandem breakers to get enough room for a dp 50 ran #6 to the disconnect and 4 #10s and 2 #12s to the tub.

Sent from my SM-S727VL using Tapatalk
chicken steve likes this.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (11-01-2017)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2017, 08:52 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,584
Rewards Points: 3,570
Default

Why would you not mount that disco on the house?
sbrn33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 09:04 AM   #43
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,438
Rewards Points: 10,200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken steve View Post
I've walked off many jobs Lighter, I just don't care any more

You think i've a rep here, try some of my ex GC's and customers i've 'fired'

~CS~
Oh , I with regard to local GC's I am in the same boat .

This year , I only tried working (sub contracting ) with one GC
remodeler...(see posts in April) I started and finished one job
for the guy and couldn't run away fast enough.

They honestly believe they are where ALL the action is!
chicken steve likes this.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2017, 09:08 AM   #44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 14,295
Rewards Points: 26,836
Default

Clapboard siding ?
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 10:22 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,496
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

about the heater and pump, mine as a jumper that i can decide if the heater can run while pump is on high speed or only at low speed. at low speed total amps is about 23A, if i choose the other setting it takes about 45-50A if 2 pumps are running
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 10:24 AM   #46
Light Bender
 
eddy current's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,593
Rewards Points: 8,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
I have seen hot tubs that operate on 1-20 amp circuit. They are normally cheap pieces of crap. Definitely not something you want in a cold climate as they lose their heat quickly.
I am more surprised that some of the loonies on here are not telling you that you need to run a ground ring around it.
I had a rich customer who loved these tubs. Had me install 120 volt dedicated outlets at all his properties, his kids properties, even a few for his friends.

Iíve been in one in winter at it was great. Canadian winter by the way

https://softubcanada.com/product/softub-140/
eddy current is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 09:02 PM   #47
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Was going to put the two gfci breakers and just mount a wp box with two switches but panel was jammed full and had to add tandem breakers to get enough room for a dp 50 ran #6 to the disconnect and 4 #10s and 2 #12s to the tub.

Sent from my SM-S727VL using Tapatalk
Ironically, i just completed the same tub, same disco today , had to think a tad on the jumpers, pins, model # configuration (it had been run @ 120V all summer)

But she flew when i sparked 'er up!

~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 10:14 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
Why would you not mount that disco on the house?
Customer did not want it on the house.

Sent from my SM-S727VL using Tapatalk
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 10:16 AM   #49
Senior Member
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,827
Rewards Points: 1,134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken steve View Post
Ironically, i just completed the same tub, same disco today , had to think a tad on the jumpers, pins, model # configuration (it had been run @ 120V all summer)

But she flew when i sparked 'er up!

~CS~
I verified the pins looks to have been setup for 240. They still have not filled it yet. So no idea when I can light it up.

Sent from my SM-S727VL using Tapatalk
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Line voltage and control wiring in same JB katwalatapan Canadian Electrical Forum 10 10-21-2017 08:00 AM
Fire Alarm wiring stdave General Electrical Discussion 7 10-03-2017 08:45 PM
Damaged wiring inside a water heater - questions Islander General Electrical Discussion 14 01-01-2017 04:37 AM
Wiring Left in Distribution Panel Hdinj Code Violation Discussion 26 02-07-2016 11:31 PM
NPLFA circuit wiring khfiei General Electrical Discussion 5 02-05-2016 11:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com