Does Siemens replace Murray? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
  • 3 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 3 Post By HackWork
  • 1 Post By Bzzzzzt
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2017, 09:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: PA
Posts: 267
Rewards Points: 536
Default Does Siemens replace Murray?

I have a Murray LC230PC panel with a burnt bus. Does Siemens make a replacement for this, with copper bus? Customer doesnt want to pay to replace the whole panel.
John M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2017, 11:33 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. View Post
I have a Murray LC230PC panel with a burnt bus. Does Siemens make a replacement for this, with copper bus? Customer doesnt want to pay to replace the whole panel.
I don't know, but Cutler Hammer makes listed replacement guts for existing panel cans. But that approach might be just as pricey as the replacement panel.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 11:40 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,540
Rewards Points: 3,072
Default

I think the closest you'll find is a Murray LC3040B1200CU. You would have to check dimensions and door fit. This is a new panel. The only thing he'll save is the labor of swapping out the tub.
LC = load center
30 = 1" spaces
40 = max circuits
B = main breaker
1= single phase
200 = amperage
CU = copper bus
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2017, 01:56 PM   #4
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,297
Rewards Points: 1,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John M. View Post
I have a Murray LC230PC panel with a burnt bus. Does Siemens make a replacement for this, with copper bus? Customer doesnt want to pay to replace the whole panel.
Sometimes they have to bite the bullet and do what needs to be done.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 02:57 PM   #5
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,267
Rewards Points: 1,701
Default

I just had a crotchety old geezer replace a panel for me in 3 hours while I threw wirenuts at him.

Don't let the customer's unwillingness to pay for a new panel make you do hours worth of free work finding new guts.
frenchelectrican, nrp3 and telsa like this.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 02:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Missouri
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 76
Default

When I run into this situation I usually go to the supply house and purchase a panel of similar construction with the same physical panel can size and just pull the guts out of it and put them in the existing panel can. Lots of times these new panels come with a few extra breakers. I have discovered that purchasing panel components is often more expensive than a whole panel. As long as you're not trying this with some old FPE stab-lok panels it's usually fairly easy to find a suitable replacement.
samgregger likes this.
Bzzzzzt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 09:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,085
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

Siemens owns Murray, there is no difference other than the name. So yes, they are 100% interchangeable. If you can find a Siemens interior that matches, use it.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Murray breakers reliable? Hanford43 Residential Electrical Forum 11 04-06-2017 08:52 AM
Siemens BR series load center? rotax91 Residential Electrical Forum 3 10-06-2016 08:46 PM
Murray main panel bonding strap griinder73 General Electrical Discussion 17 07-02-2016 09:42 PM
is it code requiring to replace an old receptacle without a ground with a GFCI plug? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 48 06-21-2016 10:52 AM
how to replace dc motor with ac motor power calculation waff PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 10 03-31-2016 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com