Duplex : Customer asks for 3 meters - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2015, 03:06 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 241
Default Duplex : Customer asks for 3 meters

Hello,


I'm not sure about this. Just got customer request, he has a Duplex, wants service Upgrade (200A) to serve 2 Addresses. 1 Building, split in half.

He wants 3 meters, 1 for unit1, 1 for unit 2, and a 3rd "House meter" for the whole house (both Duplexes).

Perhaps I just don't know this one, but I thought PG&E will only give 2 meters, 1 for each address.

Why would he ask for a "House meter", why not just 2 meters?
onilozay is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2015, 03:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 241
Default

typo correction, not both "Duplexes", both Units
onilozay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 05:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,937
Rewards Points: 1,508
Default

Maybe he has been stung before by someone
Tampering with the meter
Or at least he's worried about it ?
Could have seen a hyped up media story about it.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2015, 06:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
cabletie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default

Usually the house meter/panel feeds loads common to both areas that the landlord would pay for, or split the bill with the tenants. The loads could be outside/common area lights, maybe fire alarm panel or laundry room.
cabletie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cabletie For This Useful Post:
220/221 (02-26-2015), guest (02-27-2015), Imwired (02-26-2015), John Valdes (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 07:45 AM   #5
Retired Account
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the Green Mountain state
Posts: 39,722
Rewards Points: 14,650
Default

Isn't this some recent code? I'm too lazy to look.....~CS~
chicken steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 08:47 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jw0445's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kirkwood, Pa.
Posts: 1,221
Rewards Points: 1,818
Default

House meter would also pick up well pump, septic pump, dusk to dawn lighting, etc.
jw0445 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 09:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mass.
Posts: 489
Rewards Points: 274
Default

That's the norm around here
ecelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ecelectric For This Useful Post:
220/221 (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 10:56 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Adelanto CA
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 374
Default

Yup extra meter is common and required above a certain number of units (NEC is two units but there are local exceptions). 210.25(B) requires a separate panel if there are any common area circuits in a building with two or more dwelling units.

Last edited by Hawkrod; 02-26-2015 at 11:05 AM.
Hawkrod is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hawkrod For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 11:02 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: mass.
Posts: 489
Rewards Points: 274
Default

I had houses with just a 6'by 6' entry hall and that was the only common area but they still wanted the house meter
ecelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:18 AM   #10
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Yep I've installed house meters for one single common area light.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 11:51 AM   #11
Fond of three phase
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cedar Grove, Wi. 40 mi. north of Milwaukee.
Posts: 1,649
Rewards Points: 928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken steve View Post
Isn't this some recent code? I'm too lazy to look.....~CS~
It seems to be a common practice, around here as well. Some of these duplexes are only 50-60 years old.
Is there an exemption, if the owner lives in one of the units. Of course, that's always subject to change.
retiredsparktech is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to retiredsparktech For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 12:39 PM   #12
Sentimental Mental
 
CTshockhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 1,060
Rewards Points: 1,606
Default

Don't get quite a few service changes because of the need for a house meter now. People just leave the existing decrepit service until total failure.

Often it isn't just adding the extra meter and panel, but you have to rewire to get those common loads off of the tenants service. Can get quite pricey with a front stairwell, rear stairwell, outdoor lighting, garage, and basement.

Used to be ok if owner lived there, now that's not good enough.

Many duplexes around here you'll see 2 fixtures where there would normally be only one, each tied to the separate service. Looks ridiculous.
__________________
.
__________________________________________________

Were you born retaŕded or did you pick that up on your own?
CTshockhazard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 07:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Around here, a duplex has to be 2 completely independent units, and cannot share any "common area," laundry, hall, boiler, water, cesspool or sewer, etc. Just like 2 single family residences that share a common party wall. Even the basements are separate. When a duplex owner wants a "house meter" it's usually because an illegal apartment or apartments are going into the basement(s).
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LawnGuyLandSparky For This Useful Post:
Imwired (02-26-2015)
Old 02-26-2015, 08:54 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 42
Default

Would you not have to upsize the service feeders to accommodate for the house panel? Assuming each unit will have a 100A panel. Or is there some derating that takes place allowing for the house panel?
Mista Bojangles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 05:08 PM   #15
Sentimental Mental
 
CTshockhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 1,060
Rewards Points: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mista Bojangles View Post
Would you not have to upsize the service feeders to accommodate for the house panel? Assuming each unit will have a 100A panel. Or is there some derating that takes place allowing for the house panel?
Pretty unlikely in these situations that the load(s) on the house panel would be large enough to increase the service size.

When adding it to an existing service, the load doesn't really change, just the distribution of the load.
__________________
.
__________________________________________________

Were you born retaŕded or did you pick that up on your own?
CTshockhazard is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When a customer asks what the problem was.... Speedy Petey Off Topic (Non Trade) 5 12-24-2013 03:14 PM
HI asks a Question Bob Sisson General Electrical Discussion 52 12-22-2012 02:08 AM
When a customer asks... Stab&Shoot General Electrical Discussion 7 02-15-2012 05:38 PM
Just in Case someone asks why you are a member Southeast Power Union Topics 69 05-24-2009 08:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com