Easy service today - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2015, 09:09 PM   #21
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Dog View Post
AFCI Breaker...
Don't ruin my moment, I was hoping it was a GFCI
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2015, 09:31 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Nice job , pic of outside?
Steve W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:37 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
CADPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temp in SC
Posts: 2,164
Rewards Points: 1,838
Default

But why, is it a code requirement in your hood to do this?

It just seems crazy to me.

The panel has the required press stamped (relief) 1/4" spacing in the back of the
panel, why the need to do more?
__________________
If you are even thirsty, you are two quarts low.

Last edited by CADPoint; 02-12-2015 at 09:46 PM.
CADPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to CADPoint For This Useful Post:
CopperSlave (02-13-2015), dronai (02-14-2015), John Valdes (02-13-2015), sbrn33 (02-13-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2015, 09:42 PM   #24
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CADPoint View Post
But why, is it a code requirement in your hood to do this?

It just seems crazy to me.

The panel has the required press stamped 1/4" spacing in the back of the
panel, why the need to do more?
Uh oh. Mag's gonna see this and give us a big speech on quality, copper conductors, the service lasting 75 yrs....yada yada yada....
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:43 PM   #25
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Selectric View Post
Looks like the neutral off the GFCI breaker.
Oh ok, on my phone it looks like it's going from neutral buss, 6 screw s down, to neutral buss. I can't tell is going to the breaker
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:51 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
jett95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: pennsauken,nj
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Dog
AFCI Breaker...
nah its a gfi breaker
jett95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:52 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
jett95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: pennsauken,nj
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric
Looks good. Even gave it the bobelectric free receptacle.
of course always
jett95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:52 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
jett95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: pennsauken,nj
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W
Nice job , pic of outside?
i forgot to get a pic, it was underground so aint much to see
jett95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 10:28 PM   #29
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Nice neat looking work. Good job.....even if it is SE cable.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 10:31 PM   #30
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CADPoint View Post
But why, is it a code requirement in your hood to do this?

It just seems crazy to me.

The panel has the required press stamped (relief) 1/4" spacing in the back of the
panel, why the need to do more?
It's pure tradition, nothing more. In romex and SE cable land (New England, New York, and a few other areas) it gives us a place to staple the romex and secure the SE cable right above the panel.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MTW For This Useful Post:
dronai (02-14-2015), John Valdes (02-13-2015)
Old 02-12-2015, 10:35 PM   #31
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
It's pure tradition, nothing more. In romex and SE cable land (New England, New York, and a few other areas) it gives us a place to staple the romex and secure the SE cable right above the panel.
Good explanation......its also very common north of the border. We use plywood behind our panels pretty much all the time.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rollie73 For This Useful Post:
MTW (02-12-2015)
Old 02-12-2015, 10:41 PM   #32
MTW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 15,551
Rewards Points: 10,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollie73 View Post
Good explanation......its also very common north of the border. We use plywood behind our panels pretty much all the time.
It's even more necessary for you guys since you have to enter all your circuits into the side of the panel.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 10:44 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
The_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 659
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Why would you not mount the panel on plywood? That just seems annoying. Where do you staple your Romex?

And we don't paint it. The homeowner can do that if he pleases
The_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 10:52 PM   #34
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
It's even more necessary for you guys since you have to enter all your circuits into the side of the panel.

Very true......however, we can always flip that panel sideways and come into the top and the bottom
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rollie73 For This Useful Post:
metalpats (02-13-2015)
Old 02-12-2015, 10:55 PM   #35
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_kid View Post

And we don't paint it. The homeowner can do that if he pleases

Sometimes....actually very frequently in commercial.....our specs will require us to paint it with this.....

Name:  FR paint.png
Views: 153
Size:  29.7 KB
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 01:22 AM   #36
Member
 
PowerPlusCt.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Why can't I see the pictures???


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
PowerPlusCt.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 01:23 AM   #37
Member
 
PowerPlusCt.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Never mind I wasn't signed inn, maybe that's why


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
PowerPlusCt.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 09:31 AM   #38
Yeah Toast!!
 
Roger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
Rewards Points: 1,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Going_Commando View Post
Cuz thats how its done, man. I usually do a wider piece of plywood so there is room for telco/cable company, but its just how a lot of guys are taught.

The only thing i dont like is the black plywood. To be done correctly, it should be industrial gray.
No, no, no.....Battleship Gray!
Roger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 01:34 PM   #39
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,757
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Uh oh. Mag's gonna see this and give us a big speech on quality, copper conductors, the service lasting 75 yrs....yada yada yada....
No Jerry. He's all AL now. No more wasting money. This topic was "hot" for a year or so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger123 View Post
No, no, no.....Battleship Gray!
Gray is for industrial, black is for commercial. No board is for residential.
John Valdes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 02:40 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Going_Commando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Hampshah
Posts: 6,089
Rewards Points: 1,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Valdes View Post

No Jerry. He's all AL now. No more wasting money. This topic was "hot" for a year or so.

Gray is for industrial, black is for commercial. No board is for residential.
Pffft, shows what you know. Gray for all the things!
__________________
"I bet you smell like cigarettes and felonies." -HackWork
Going_Commando is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Easy service call today Shockdoc General Electrical Discussion 4 04-08-2013 11:08 PM
Really easy service call rrolleston General Electrical Discussion 11 03-15-2013 02:28 PM
Easy money today. 220/221 Services and Service Equipment 38 04-30-2012 09:39 PM
Easy service call I_get_shocked Residential Electrical Forum 11 09-30-2010 11:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com