elevator code gurus - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2013, 08:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
flashover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 603
Posts: 136
Rewards Points: 121
Default elevator code gurus

Scenario: passenger elevator from basement to roof.

Machine room is on the roof, "plans" call for ckts (cab lights, hvac,) to be pulled from basement house panel to a disconnect, then on to the elevator loads.

My question:
Does a ckt breaker or fuse type disconnect located in the machine room qualify as the "overcurrent device supplying the branch ckt" per 620.22?

Or does the machine room need a sub panel to satisfy the requirement of 620.22 a and b
flashover is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2013, 09:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eighty Four,Pa.15330
Posts: 7,985
Rewards Points: 1,464
Default

We run the elevator feed to the room. Lights and recptacles we do.The elevator union does the rest.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
di11igaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: east coast
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 282
Default

The couple I've done start to finish I used fused disco(I believe this can be an enclosed CB) in machine room to feed elevator controller(sub panel not required), fed from shunt trip breaker elsewhere.
__________________
IBEW
There's no place like ~/

Last edited by di11igaf; 10-30-2013 at 09:10 PM.
di11igaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-30-2013, 09:09 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
flashover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 603
Posts: 136
Rewards Points: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by di11igaf View Post
The couple I've done start to finish I used fused disco in machine room to feed elevator controller(sub panel not required), fed from shunt trip breaker elsewhere.
Does the elevator controller do the cab lights and hvac as well?
flashover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CA/MI
Posts: 5,669
Rewards Points: 2,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by di11igaf
The couple I've done start to finish I used fused disco(I believe this can be an enclosed CB) in machine room to feed elevator controller(sub panel not required), fed from shunt trip breaker elsewhere.
That about sums up the one I just did.
__________________
When ls lunch?
Bkessler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:25 PM   #6
Fluke Skywalker
 
walkerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,383
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashover
Scenario: passenger elevator from basement to roof.

Machine room is on the roof, "plans" call for ckts (cab lights, hvac,) to be pulled from basement house panel to a disconnect, then on to the elevator loads.

My question:
Does a ckt breaker or fuse type disconnect located in the machine room qualify as the "overcurrent device supplying the branch ckt" per 620.22?

Or does the machine room need a sub panel to satisfy the requirement of 620.22 a and b
Either way but I would not design this yourself.
I'm sure there is an engineer involved.

Better yet, get with the elevator installer.
__________________
Jason
walkerj is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to walkerj For This Useful Post:
rlc3854 (10-30-2013)
Old 10-30-2013, 09:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
flashover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 603
Posts: 136
Rewards Points: 121
Default

Im simply questioning some very vague stuff that was handed to me, I would never design, strictly install, even with the masters license.
flashover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 10:36 PM   #8
Electrical Simpleton
 
Pete m.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,350
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashover View Post
Im simply questioning some very vague stuff that was handed to me, I would never design, strictly install, even with the masters license.
Based on location... I have no freakin clue where you are. If you are in Ohio you simply provide a feed to the elevator controller and the State takes over from there.

Pete
__________________
"The difference between a conviction and a prejudice is that you can explain a conviction without getting angry."
Pete m. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Pete m. For This Useful Post:
rlc3854 (10-30-2013)
Old 11-02-2013, 03:10 PM   #9
"A" Inside Wireman LU 134
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: huntley, illinois
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 97
Default

I do a lot of elevator work. Install as I do it as follows:

1. Heavy duty fusible lockable disconnect for elevator mainline
2. Heavy duty fusible lockable disconnect for elevator cab lighting
3. All new lighting in elevator machine room
4. New GFCI receptacle at each elevator machine
5. Install lighting and GFCI receptacle in elevator pit. Also provide single
receptacle in pit if sump pump is present.
6. Provide new circuit for HVAC unit.

This is a standard install. Of course elevator consultants and the inspectors can throw some changes in from time to time.
__________________
Piping as long as I can...

Last edited by pugz134; 11-02-2013 at 03:12 PM.
pugz134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 07:55 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: montreal
Posts: 317
Rewards Points: 264
Default

Don't forget smoke detectors and relays from firealarm panel.
Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 09:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
CADPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Temp in SC
Posts: 2,164
Rewards Points: 1,838
Default

I just finished one of those new penthouse layout's.

Your'll need a certain number of duplicate equipment (previous stated) at both the top and the bottom of the lift way.

Disconnect in both service room and above in penthouse, smoke and light and GCFI both high and low.

In most States the elevator has their own way of doing things (Code)and to get a good location for circuit should be directed by elevator installers.

In no case in NC will they let any foriegn circuits be within the elevator equipment (except as required) and they will not be used infact as a raceway, and no pipe vertically from you either.

Get with the installers, they will work with you.

Good luck, stay safe
__________________
If you are even thirsty, you are two quarts low.

Last edited by CADPoint; 11-02-2013 at 09:49 PM.
CADPoint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 09:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,447
Rewards Points: 562
Default

Install I have done:

Elevator pit GFCI and Light
Elevator Machine room lighting
Elevator Main Disconnect and conduit/wiring to controller
Elevator Cab lighting disconnect and conduit/wiring to controller
Convenience receptacle in machine room.
Disconnect and wring to HVAC in machine room where needed.

Everything from the controller on is not my problem.

We have to install circuits to a fusible disconnect IN the machine room. Also we aren't allowed to do work in the room without an elevator tech on site.

It's always nice to have a subpanel up on the roof top for future but if money is an issue it's just the circuits needed.
CanadianSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Auto/Tire Gurus out there? CanadianSparky Off Topic (Non Trade) 20 02-21-2013 04:29 PM
Q for the RSLogix 5000 gurus MDShunk PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 10 01-24-2012 08:05 PM
Q for the lighting gurus user4818 Lighting Design 25 09-30-2011 09:29 PM
GURUS-Wheres the Code Violation? TexasElectric NEC Code Forum 2 05-03-2011 09:24 PM
G'day Gurus Air_wolfie New Member Introductions 5 12-14-2009 09:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com