Emergency Power Generator Lockout Procedure? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2017, 09:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Canada, Windsor
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default Emergency Power Generator Lockout Procedure?

Never had much experience dealing with back up emergency power generators, had a question on test asking "correct location to lock out at is? " is it utility supply or transfer switch?

Thanks
Mcarthur00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2017, 10:02 PM   #2
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 21,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcarthur00 View Post
Never had much experience dealing with back up emergency power generators, had a question on test asking "correct location to lock out at is? " is it utility supply or transfer switch?

Thanks
Short and sweet answer useally at transfer switch location if they have lockout provision then it is used for locked out means. if can be locked out in off postion then that is the answer there.

Plus you will have to lock out the starting and run circuits too ( that will varies depending on the generator set up )
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 10:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central,CT
Posts: 316
Rewards Points: 475
Default

On the unit itself unless the transfer switch has a lock out means. Most generators we install have breakers on them and some now hvae transfer switches with gen breakers in them.
jsmart84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-30-2017, 10:08 PM   #4
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 21,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmart84 View Post
On the unit itself unless the transfer switch has a lock out means. Most generators we install have breakers on them and some now hvae transfer switches with gen breakers in them.
Yuh that true for small to med size generators but for larger one most common to find breaker at the transfer switch escpally with medium voltage units.
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 10:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central,CT
Posts: 316
Rewards Points: 475
Default

Maybe medium voltage but the one megger i was at last year had 480 volt breakers within the unit.
jsmart84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 10:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 2,905
Rewards Points: 1,444
Default

QUOTE - [ had a question on test asking "correct location to lock out at is? " ? ]

I think the clue is in this word " lock out "
What would you be locking out
If it's a generator can be only one thing
The incoming mains supply !

So it would be locked in the generator position.
If you read all of the question
And consider carefully what they say
There can only be one answer !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Power Company Lythropus Services and Service Equipment 6 08-26-2017 04:36 AM
Power Surge on One Leg with high amp appliances crum2243 General Electrical Discussion 1 09-20-2016 03:24 AM
Generator emergency power off Chicagosparky1 NEC Code Forum 5 06-08-2016 08:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com