Feeders without a separate equipment ground - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By A Little Short
  • 1 Post By mitch65
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2017, 08:22 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1
Default Feeders without a separate equipment ground

We have a project that is calling for us to install 1000 A service with 12 60 A services off of it to feed separate storage units that are in the same building but in separated areas .The drawing is asking us to run three conductors to each panel (two hots and a neutral).this would be ran in PVC conduit wanting to know if any of you know of any code articles that would back this up without having to run a separate equipment ground
Larry hippich is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2017, 08:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,088
Rewards Points: 860
Default

Time to RFI the engineer or architect.
Helmut and Bird dog like this.
__________________

A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 08:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,444
Rewards Points: 3,288
Default

A 1,000 amp service for a storage building??? That makes no ****ing sense.
Yes you need to run 4 wires if is a sub.
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-08-2017, 02:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,819
Rewards Points: 25,884
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry hippich View Post
We have a project that is calling for us to install 1000 A service with 12 60 A services off of it to feed separate storage units that are in the same building but in separated areas .The drawing is asking us to run three conductors to each panel (two hots and a neutral).this would be ran in PVC conduit wanting to know if any of you know of any code articles that would back this up without having to run a separate equipment ground
Sounds like a NOOB EE.

That's wrong in so many ways.
telsa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 02:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,003
Rewards Points: 416
Default

Always need a ground in PVC pipe. At least here.
glen1971 likes this.
mitch65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 03:43 PM   #6
Gold Pliers Champion
 
Signal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 2,280
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry hippich View Post
We have a project that is calling for us to install 1000 A service with 12 60 A services off of it to feed separate storage units that are in the same building but in separated areas .The drawing is asking us to run three conductors to each panel (two hots and a neutral).this would be ran in PVC conduit wanting to know if any of you know of any code articles that would back this up without having to run a separate equipment ground
No.
Signal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground Rod at Separate Building rubberduckey Canadian Electrical Forum 6 08-19-2017 11:58 PM
Water line used as system ground. ELECTRICK2 Residential Electrical Forum 92 05-22-2017 06:48 PM
Ground fault, ship dwong General Electrical Discussion 0 05-22-2016 01:44 PM
equipment ground conductor for PV arry? gabriel*PV NEC Code Forum 5 02-08-2016 11:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com