In-floor heating thermostat / sensor question - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2018, 10:45 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
sbrn33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: middle america
Posts: 11,496
Rewards Points: 3,394
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Okay, if the OP's sensor is shot, what's the option besides besides the rheostat? If he put a new sensor in the wall it might work, it would just have a different reference point.
You pull off the baseboard, chip out some tile and install a new one. Caulk it back in and tell them to get a tile guy.
He should feel lucky he didn't supply any of the components.
sbrn33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2018, 10:50 AM   #22
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,901
Rewards Points: 12,169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
You pull off the baseboard, chip out some tile and install a new one. Caulk it back in and tell them to get a tile guy.
He should feel lucky he didn't supply any of the components.
I guess if you had a big enough grout line, you could do it with no tile damage.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 10:51 AM   #23
Moderator

 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,216
Rewards Points: 1,428
Default

Firstly, are you sure the first T-stat was bad? If it has gfci built in as most do then it could be that the gfci needs to be reset.

Measure the resistance of the load and maybe there is some info around that has that info.

Also depending on how the sensor was installed you may be able to just slide a new sensor down the pipe which would get it close to the floor. We always sleeve the sensor in conduit so that the sensor can be reinserted. I believe some manufacturers will sell you a conduit made for that purpose
__________________
They say I shot a man named Gray and took his wife to Italy
She inherited a million bucks and when she died it came to me
I can't help it if I'm lucky
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2018, 11:20 AM   #24
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,668
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Okay, if the OP's sensor is shot, what's the option besides besides the rheostat? If he put a new sensor in the wall it might work, it would just have a different reference point.
I would think you could probably hack up some way to surface mount the sensor in an out of the way spot, but that might be more trouble than identifying a compatible thermostat since it sounds to me like the thermostat is OK.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2018, 04:50 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Islander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 315
Rewards Points: 630
Default

Thanks to everyone for your responses.

I finally called the folks who manufactured the replacement thermostat (True Comfort). They were baffled that the thermostat would even show that low of a temperature. However, they did provide a solution to the problem that would avoid the complications of installing a new sensor. There are four settings for how to control the temperature, and one of them is "Room". Basically, it ignores the sensor entirely, and adjusts the power to the cable based upon room temperature only.

The install pages I had on site made no mention of that, but their online guide does.

Problem (hopefully) solved.

Downside: the bathroom door would have to be kept closed, or the flooring will try to heat the entire lower floor. At 250 watts (it's a small bathroom), it would have its work cut out for it.
__________________
Get me a wire stretcher, a stainless steel magnet, and a skyhook.... STAT!

Last edited by Islander; 02-16-2018 at 04:53 PM.
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 09:10 AM   #26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pgh
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Islander View Post
Thanks to everyone for your responses.

I finally called the folks who manufactured the replacement thermostat (True Comfort). They were baffled that the thermostat would even show that low of a temperature. However, they did provide a solution to the problem that would avoid the complications of installing a new sensor. There are four settings for how to control the temperature, and one of them is "Room". Basically, it ignores the sensor entirely, and adjusts the power to the cable based upon room temperature only.

The install pages I had on site made no mention of that, but their online guide does.

Problem (hopefully) solved.

Downside: the bathroom door would have to be kept closed, or the flooring will try to heat the entire lower floor. At 250 watts (it's a small bathroom), it would have its work cut out for it.
Maybe a timer ahead of it to limit the times of the day it operates. Morning wake up to get ready for the day and any other appropriate times.

Sent from my Z851M using Tapatalk
FWW56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage heater thermostat NFS General Electrical Discussion 4 11-04-2017 11:19 PM
Thermostat help NYelectric25 General Electrical Discussion 20 10-20-2017 08:51 PM
Nest thermostat wreaking havoc - buzzing relay, anyone else seen this? alexbc General Electrical Discussion 39 07-25-2017 08:15 AM
Installing a double pole thermostat to 2 heaters smh382 General Electrical Discussion 2 12-28-2016 07:56 PM
Line Voltage Thermostat with Terminals splatz Residential Electrical Forum 7 04-10-2016 06:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com