Fuse holder in 1/2" KO? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2018, 11:57 AM   #1
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default Fuse holder in 1/2" KO?

I've never seen these before, what are they for? I couldn't open the panel because there was a pallet in front of it and I was in a rush so I just snapped the picture.

Fuse holder in 1/2" KO?-img_0728.jpg
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2018, 12:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
cabletie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default

I would guess there for that meter or surge protector below the fuses. They probably tap off something large to feed that thing below
HackWork likes this.
cabletie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cabletie For This Useful Post:
HackWork (02-14-2018)
Old 02-14-2018, 12:15 PM   #3
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabletie View Post
I would guess there for that meter or surge protector below the fuses. They probably tap off something large to feed that thing below
Good guess. I search for it and found those same fuses in one of the packages.

I didn't think about that because I never wired an E-Mon D-Mon with fuses.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2018, 12:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
cabletie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default

We just did a job that had 208v singe phase condensate pumps that were taped off the three phase feed to the CAC unit hanging in the ceiling. There was a place in the unit to land the condensate pump. It had two of those fuse holders in the unit.
cabletie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 12:19 PM   #5
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

I've seen those in standalone equipment, but never in a panel like that.

I thought maybe it was a way to add an extra circuit or two to a full panel
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HackWork For This Useful Post:
splatz (02-14-2018)
Old 02-14-2018, 12:24 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
cabletie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default

Is that a single phase panel? Or are they just metering a single phase load?

Never mind, you said you didn't open the panel.
cabletie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 12:27 PM   #7
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,316
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

Those look like panel mount fuse holders, putting them in a 1/2" KO probably would not be 100% kosher but I could see it working reasonably well.
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 12:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
cabletie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default

Oh well, lunch is over. I'm going to mis the lunch view here now the job is done. Ok it's not as nice as McMikes!
Attached Thumbnails
Fuse holder in 1/2" KO?-img_1875.jpg  

cabletie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 12:32 PM   #9
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Hey, if you zoom in enough you can see my truck!
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 12:41 PM   #10
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabletie View Post
Oh well, lunch is over. I'm going to mis the lunch view here now the job is done. Ok it's not as nice as McMikes!
Is that Asbury Park there along the ocean?
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:01 PM   #11
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,654
Rewards Points: 11,673
Default

CC fuse for motor protection?
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:12 PM   #12
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
CC fuse for motor protection?
See: http://www.electriciantalk.com/f2/fu...5/#post4767833
gellc likes this.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:15 PM   #13
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,654
Rewards Points: 11,673
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
What's an Emon Dmon?
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:16 PM   #14
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,316
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

Maybe they're for CT leads going to the submetering device. .
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:17 PM   #15
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,316
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
What's an Emon Dmon?
http://www.emon.com/
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:37 PM   #16
Mensa Player
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 33,221
Rewards Points: 1,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
What's an Emon Dmon?
It's a sub-meter.
__________________
I'm trying to think, but nothing happens.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:24 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
cabletie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N.J.
Posts: 1,698
Rewards Points: 1,274
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Is that Asbury Park there along the ocean?
Yes, that's it. I knew you would figure it out.
cabletie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:56 PM   #18
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabletie View Post
Yes, that's it. I knew you would figure it out.
I've been on most of those roofs there....lol!
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:01 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
JRaef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 5,082
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
Maybe they're for CT leads going to the submetering device. .
You NEVER put a fuse in a CT circuit!

More likely they are for an electronic transducer of some sort, and the device needs a very small OCPD, smaller than 15A, so a breaker in the panel can't work for it.
micromind likes this.
__________________
"If you don't know where you're going, then any direction will do." -- Lewis Carroll
JRaef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:21 PM   #20
Hackenschmidt
 
splatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 8,316
Rewards Points: 4,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRaef View Post
You NEVER put a fuse in a CT circuit!
I did not know that - why not? I never did it, never really thought about it until looking at hax's picture ...
__________________
Everything Should Be Made as Simple as Possible, But Not Simpler
splatz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What caused this fuse melt down? Canaduh Residential Electrical Forum 9 01-16-2018 06:56 PM
Mystery Fuse Blow Aegis General Electrical Discussion 16 08-17-2017 05:07 AM
how do we know what kind of class for the transfomer fuse or switch gear DS fuse ? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 1 04-30-2016 03:44 PM
Harmonic Filter Fuse glen1971 PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 2 04-06-2016 07:14 PM
Upgrading and outdoor screw-in fuse box to a circuit breaker type box Jimmi328 Residential Electrical Forum 2 03-26-2016 08:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com