Fuse holder in 1/2" KO? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree13Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2018, 05:24 PM   #21
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,654
Rewards Points: 11,673
Default

No doubt JRaef will explain it. I sucked at transformer theory .
99cents is online now   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2018, 05:53 PM   #22
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,885
Rewards Points: 1,360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HackWork View Post
I've never seen these before, what are they for?
Fuses are a type of overcurrent protection device, generally used to open a circuit during a fault or overload.
99cents likes this.
RePhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RePhase277 For This Useful Post:
Arrow3030 (02-14-2018)
Old 02-14-2018, 06:01 PM   #23
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RePhase277 View Post
Fuses are a type of overcurrent protection device, generally used to open a circuit during a fault or overload.
In honor of MTW ,,,you get a
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-14-2018, 07:17 PM   #24
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 6,529
Rewards Points: 2,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I did not know that - why not? I never did it, never really thought about it until looking at hax's picture ...
A CT is a current transformer, it is designed to transmit current, the voltage will fall wherever it will based on the impedance of the circuit.

If a CT circuit is opened, the voltage will go extremely high, many thousands of volts. Even if the CT has a built-in arc chamber, it'll be destroyed quickly because the windings will arc across each other.

A CT typically operates at very close to a short-circuit.....very low impedance.

Think,of it asa normal transformer with the wire through the center an a winding with one turn. Now think of the other winding with many turns.

Lets say the secondary winding is 100 turns. The voltage ratio will be 100:1. Even at 120, this will yield 12,000 volts.

The fuses this case are for the voltage part of the circuit, not the current part.

Note: there is a difference between a current transformer and a current transducer. Most transducers can be operated open circuit, no transformer can.
HackWork, 99cents and splatz like this.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to micromind For This Useful Post:
splatz (02-14-2018)
Old 02-14-2018, 07:39 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 707
Rewards Points: 1,353
Default

They are to power the Emon Dmon. The installer fails though. Neat install, but they should be inside the panel. The whole point of the fuses is to tap the main to power the Emon Dmon.
You bury them inside the panel so the tenant can't shut off the power to their electric meter and stiff the landlord. Might as well feed it from a breaker if you are going to make the fuses accessible.
JoeSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JoeSparky For This Useful Post:
splatz (02-14-2018)
Old 02-14-2018, 08:55 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,909
Rewards Points: 1,590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by splatz View Post
I did not know that - why not? I never did it, never really thought about it until looking at hax's picture ...
If you blow the fuse the CT would be open and several things can happen, Destroy the accuracy, burn a hole in the CT, CT blow up. I have seen all three. THE CT has to have a burden across it otherwise the voltage can climb until you destroy the CT.

ALWAYS short the secondary, we never install CT's without shorting blocks.

Emon CTs are actually Current Sensors, and are self-protected, though I would never rely on that nugget of information when stalling or removing them.
micromind and splatz like this.
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now

Last edited by brian john; 02-14-2018 at 08:59 PM.
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brian john For This Useful Post:
splatz (02-14-2018)
Old 02-14-2018, 08:57 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
brian john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Gilbert's Corner VA
Posts: 29,909
Rewards Points: 1,590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSparky View Post
They are to power the Emon Dmon. The installer fails though. Neat install, but they should be inside the panel. The whole point of the fuses is to tap the main to power the Emon Dmon.
You bury them inside the panel so the tenant can't shut off the power to their electric meter and stiff the landlord. Might as well feed it from a breaker if you are going to make the fuses accessible.
Emon states in their directions the fuse needs to be a 1.5 amp, (or close) not going to get a 1.5 amp CB for a panel. AS for location if a customer wants to mess with the billing open the Emon and short out the CT's
__________________
Ah, but I was so much older then, I'm younger than that now
brian john is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What caused this fuse melt down? Canaduh Residential Electrical Forum 9 01-16-2018 06:56 PM
Mystery Fuse Blow Aegis General Electrical Discussion 16 08-17-2017 05:07 AM
how do we know what kind of class for the transfomer fuse or switch gear DS fuse ? mike883 General Electrical Discussion 1 04-30-2016 03:44 PM
Harmonic Filter Fuse glen1971 PLCs, VFDs, Motors and Controls 2 04-06-2016 07:14 PM
Upgrading and outdoor screw-in fuse box to a circuit breaker type box Jimmi328 Residential Electrical Forum 2 03-26-2016 08:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com