GE vs Siemens residential breaker panels - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2015, 11:49 AM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
And I say you don't know what you are talking about. I have used GE- reluctantly in the beginning- for 15 or more years. I will take that panel over any other especially since their afci cause one tenth the trouble that I see with other brands. I have had no issues with GE.

Cutler Hammer seems to be everyones favorite but I have had more issue with them than any other panel.

If we had that deal here I would scarf it up. I can't believe that it is only $50.
The old Ford vs. Chevy, Klein vs. Knipex argument. Opinions on brands really don't matter. Documentation and facts matter most.
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chris1971 For This Useful Post:
jsmart84 (02-08-2015)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2015, 12:09 PM   #22
MTW
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 16,981
Rewards Points: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post
The old Ford vs. Chevy, Klein vs. Knipex argument. Opinions on brands really don't matter. Documentation and facts matter most.
No, personal experience and observations of product quality are what matter most.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to MTW For This Useful Post:
guest (02-07-2015), meadow (02-07-2015), papaotis (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 12:23 PM   #23
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post
The old Ford vs. Chevy, Klein vs. Knipex argument. Opinions on brands really don't matter. Documentation and facts matter most.
I provided documentation
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-07-2015, 12:28 PM   #24
RIP 1959-2015
 
Black Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Reporting From Fenway Park Home of the Boston Red Sox....
Posts: 10,750
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DDesign View Post
I've been using Siemens for the past ten years or so. My local wholesaler is offering GE at a fantastic price; 200 amp main breaker, 40 circuit, copper bus for $50. You have to buy a minimum of ten. 100 amp main breaker, 20 circuit, copper bus is $20. These prices are more than 50% off the Siemens panels

I'm thinking about buying the GE, enough to last a year, about 50 panels. Circuit breaker prices are about the same.
What's your experience with GE panels?
If it's a good deal, take it. I don't touch GE otherwise, their AFCI breakers look cheap..
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Black Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 12:36 PM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Dog View Post
If it's a good deal, take it. I don't touch GE otherwise, their AFCI breakers look cheap..
Read post # 19.....
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 12:42 PM   #26
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15,674
Rewards Points: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTW View Post
No, personal experience and observations of product quality are what matter most.
Chevy vs. Ford argument.
Chris1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 01:18 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 434
Default

GE is always my 1st choice,never had a problem with them and have been using them for 20 years.
JHFWIC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JHFWIC For This Useful Post:
Chris1971 (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 01:21 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Ty Wrapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Shawnee KS
Posts: 2,102
Rewards Points: 2,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chicken steve View Post
Nuthin worse than a floppy noodle GC.....~CS~
They make a pill for that
Ty Wrapp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ty Wrapp For This Useful Post:
chicken steve (02-08-2015), Chris1971 (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 01:33 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
MHElectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,929
Rewards Points: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DDesign View Post
I've been using Siemens for the past ten years or so. My local wholesaler is offering GE at a fantastic price; 200 amp main breaker, 40 circuit, copper bus for $50. You have to buy a minimum of ten. 100 amp main breaker, 20 circuit, copper bus is $20. These prices are more than 50% off the Siemens panels

I'm thinking about buying the GE, enough to last a year, about 50 panels. Circuit breaker prices are about the same.
What's your experience with GE panels?
WOW!! That is the deal of a lifetime! I would be all over that. Unfortunately, I do not know of any GE suppliers around here.

I'm partial to Homeline, but that's mostly due to the mass availability of panels & breakers at every street corner and their low cost. I like being able to buy 2 pole 15 & 20 amp breakers at Lowes & HD. You can't do that with other brands.

All that would change in a hot minute if I had somewhere around here selling GE at prices like you are posting!
__________________
Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.
MHElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MHElectric For This Useful Post:
Chris1971 (02-07-2015), sbrn33 (02-07-2015)
Old 02-07-2015, 07:13 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
220/221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,789
Rewards Points: 4,352
Default

<------GE hater here
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 07:21 PM   #31
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,133
Rewards Points: 1,556
Default

Used GE before without much trouble. Don't care what the AFCI looks like. I don't think they have the GFCI/AFCI yet, so no new GE panels until they do.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 07:28 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1971 View Post
Show us some documentation.
My thought exactly. I've installed of ton of GE panels and have never had a problem. Don't know how he's selling them that cheap but I would have NO problem buying them at that price. JMHO
Sparky48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 08:09 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Which supply house is this?
Quiksilver22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:32 PM   #34
corn-fused
 
papaotis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: on the river, near the corn
Posts: 4,769
Rewards Points: 620
Default

i see my local blowes is changing to ch (eaton) instead of ge. and here its more expensive! i used seimmens for years with no problem till all of a sudden they almost doubled in price! (again, blowes)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i like neat! just doesnt always happen
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
papaotis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:45 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA.
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 3,078
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiksilver22 View Post
Which supply house is this?
Scott Electric 1-800-442-8045
__________________
Greg
3DDesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:48 PM   #36
MTW
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 16,981
Rewards Points: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
Used GE before without much trouble. Don't care what the AFCI looks like. I don't think they have the GFCI/AFCI yet, so no new GE panels until they do.
They do, but it's just the Siemens/Murray one that they label slapped.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:12 PM   #37
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,133
Rewards Points: 1,556
Default

Have to look that up. Supply house is ge and hasn't said a thing.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:16 PM   #38
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,133
Rewards Points: 1,556
Default

No kidding. Striking resemblance...
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:19 PM   #39
MTW
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 16,981
Rewards Points: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
Have to look that up. Supply house is ge and hasn't said a thing.
Is that Electrical Wholesalers?
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:19 PM   #40
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,133
Rewards Points: 1,556
Default

Independent
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nrp3 For This Useful Post:
MTW (02-08-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
400a siemens breaker Julius793 General Electrical Discussion 2 10-19-2014 11:14 PM
Residential Breaker Panels mjjg92 Services and Service Equipment 30 01-07-2013 08:52 PM
225 amp MB SIEMENS Panels backstay General Electrical Discussion 10 08-10-2012 11:27 PM
siemens breaker in a sq d QO panel ampman General Electrical Discussion 12 05-05-2011 09:58 AM
ITE / Siemens Panels Bob Kraemer General Electrical Discussion 12 11-16-2010 01:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com