Generac Advice - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2015, 04:50 PM   #1
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default Generac Advice

OK all you Generac gurus. I'm looking at you mcclary.

I have a 16kw generac that is giving me intermittent start issues. Last time it happened, I tried starting the damn thing in manual and it shows battery issue but when I took the battery out and brought it to the parts store where it was purchased, they did a load test and a voltage test and it was fine. Tested at 100%
When it fails to start it shows, error code 1504(?) RPM SENSE LOSS.

SO....if I have a good battery and it will not start and it shows RPM SENSE LOSS when it fails to crank over.......where do I go from here?
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2015, 05:21 PM   #2
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Damn.....I miss-spelled Generac in my thread title.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 05:47 PM   #3
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,393
Rewards Points: 470
Default

Now I have to slog through the snow to get to the book...
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2015, 05:59 PM   #4
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,393
Rewards Points: 470
Default

No crank or no run? I don't see 1504, but see 1501, 1505, 1511, or 1515 RPM sense loss. Doesn't mean that numbers not there either.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:09 PM   #5
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
No crank or no run? I don't see 1504, but see 1501, 1505, 1511, or 1515 RPM sense loss. Doesn't mean that numbers not there either.
I could be wrong on the number, I didn't write it down.....but the message is RPM sense loss. Its certainly 15XX....


It won't crank if I try to run it in manual either.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:11 PM   #6
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,393
Rewards Points: 470
Default

Loose connection, starter relay, starter itself.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:14 PM   #7
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

OK Thanks for the suggestions. I'm thinking maybe the starter relay???? Good spot to start I guess.

Been a lot of rain and then quick freeze ups here lately. Maybe I have an intermittent problem with water in a connector freezing up.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:22 PM   #8
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,393
Rewards Points: 470
Default

It goes through a relay before it makes it to the starter solenoid. That relay is a little black cube with four wires near the controller. Looking for battery voltage at the coil of that relay first, wire 56, then battery voltage at coil at the starter solenoid, wire 16. This would be when you are attempting a start. Be that you are talking a new unit, you can call one of us service guys for warranty too.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:24 PM   #9
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

I will be calling for warranty service. Brand new unit. Less than 15 hrs run time.

Do you want to make a run up to Nova Scotia here in Canada and do the warranty work for me??
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:27 PM   #10
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,393
Rewards Points: 470
Default

If I were closer, I'd be happy to.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nrp3 For This Useful Post:
Rollie73 (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 06:29 PM   #11
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

I appreciate the help so far NRP......I will check for voltage to the starter and go from there. Its a brand new unit and under warranty so I'm going to do a few basic checks then let the authorized service guy do his end of things.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:34 PM   #12
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Can't be sure without looking but, a couple notes

1) too low gas pressure
2) weak battery
3) bad starter, cranking too slow
4) bad sensor


I listed these in order of likelihood. ....
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:35 PM   #13
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Can't be sure without looking but, a couple notes

1) too low gas pressure
2) weak battery
3) bad starter, cranking too slow
4) bad sensor


I listed these in order of likelihood. ....
Will it crank over with low gas pressure?
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:37 PM   #14
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollie73 View Post
I will be calling for warranty service. Brand new unit. Less than 15 hrs run time.

Do you want to make a run up to Nova Scotia here in Canada and do the warranty work for me??
I missed that this is brand new. Make sure that the selection between lp and ng is correct. Also, there is a physical selection for this, and an electronic selection for this. So there are two places that you need to select fuel type.

Secondly, under load, you should have 10-14 inches of water column. If less, the machine will not run properly, or may not start.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:37 PM   #15
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,393
Rewards Points: 470
Default

Cranky yes, starty no. Though in this case you might end up with overcrank.

Saw a few of those at Thanksgiving. Will start and run but die eventually. (gas in wrong position).

Last edited by nrp3; 02-08-2015 at 06:40 PM.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:42 PM   #16
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
I missed that this is brand new. Make sure that the selection between lp and ng is correct. Also, there is a physical selection for this, and an electronic selection for this. So there are two places that you need to select fuel type.

Secondly, under load, you should have 10-14 inches of water column. If less, the machine will not run properly, or may not start.
Yep brand new McClary.....it did run perfectly. I ran it numerous times under load. I did set it up for LP gas already. It just recently started with this issue. It has done its weekly start up every Sunday for the last month and a half but not this week

Quote:
Originally Posted by nrp3 View Post
Cranky yes, starty no. Though in this case you might end up with overcrank.
I get no crank at all.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:44 PM   #17
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollie73 View Post
Yep brand new McClary.....it did run perfectly. I ran it numerous times under load. I did set it up for LP gas already. It just recently started with this issue. It has done its weekly start up every Sunday for the last month and a half but not this week



I get no crank at all.
Have you tried to start it manually? If so, I would bet is a bad solenoid, or bad starter.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
Rollie73 (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 06:45 PM   #18
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,393
Rewards Points: 470
Default

Start with the wiring, look for 12v at the black relay and if thats good 12v at 16 at the starter solenoid when trying a manual start.
nrp3 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nrp3 For This Useful Post:
Rollie73 (02-08-2015)
Old 02-08-2015, 06:47 PM   #19
IBEW L.U. 1852
 
Rollie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 5,261
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclary's electrical View Post
Have you tried to start it manually? If so, I would bet is a bad solenoid, or bad starter.
Yep tried manual start.

EV Controller shows....

1. Manual start
2. Cranking.....attempt #1
3. Error Code 15XX..........RPM sense loss.


In that order although the exact wording may be slightly different.
__________________
I want to get a job cleaning mirrors......its something I can see myself doing.
Rollie73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 07:58 PM   #20
evil bastard
 
mcclary's electrical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: State of Euphoria
Posts: 15,771
Rewards Points: 746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollie73 View Post
Yep tried manual start.

EV Controller shows....

1. Manual start
2. Cranking.....attempt #1
3. Error Code 15XX..........RPM sense loss.


In that order although the exact wording may be slightly different.
Yep well you've got either a bad starter relay or bad starter. Verify voltage is making it through your relay. If it is, you know you have a bad starter, double verify that by using jumper cables and putting 12 volts right on the starter.
mcclary's electrical is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mcclary's electrical For This Useful Post:
Rollie73 (02-08-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for SoCal Lineman advice..or any advice on.. linemaninthemaking Linework 5 06-08-2014 02:46 AM
generac Side work hero Residential Electrical Forum 79 10-06-2013 11:54 AM
Generac Help boots 211 General Electrical Discussion 6 09-29-2013 06:23 PM
Starting sell alot of GENERAC generators. Advice? Built2ride Business, Marketing, and Sales 12 08-02-2013 01:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com