Generac (OPCB) set up?? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2015, 06:56 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Berlin, MD
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 26
Default Generac (OPCB) set up??

Getting ready to set a Generac 22KW air cooled gen. set with a RTSY200A3 transfer switch. I've also purchased their PMM starter kit (24VAC) and one additional PMM (24VAC).

The house has two Bryant split heat pump systems, one 1st floor with 15KW supplemental heater and one on 2nd floor with 10KW.

I would like to set up the (OPCB) on the transfer switch to shed the 2nd floor system first and the first floor system second in the event of a generator overload.

Just want to know the best wiring method to accomplish this.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Mike
mike costanzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2015, 07:05 AM   #2
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,133
Rewards Points: 1,556
Default

PMM's are only good for 50 amps. Be wary of how the heat strips are controlled. I found out on one job that I had to add a tdr relay because the furnace had a thermal relay controlling the heat. So even though I had broken the low voltage wire to the heat strips, the heat would still come back on after an outage on the generator unless I held up the transfer for a minute.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MG set bobelectric Commercial Electrical Forum 1 12-19-2014 08:18 AM
generac Side work hero Residential Electrical Forum 79 10-06-2013 10:54 AM
What is your set up mclovin Tools, Equipment and New Products 12 10-31-2012 11:40 PM
Wanted: Want KO set sparky723 Electrician Swap 22 04-15-2012 03:41 PM
Generac 20 kw footsweat General Electrical Discussion 2 02-26-2012 12:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com