generator circuit size and size of conductors - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2013, 09:30 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington State
Posts: 336
Rewards Points: 321
Default generator circuit size and size of conductors

I have a generator to install. My customer bought a 7500 watt generator... its peak watt output is something like 9000 watts, but the running watts are 7500. The unit has a 30 amp receptacle. I'm wondering if I need to upsize my conductors.
Paul S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2013, 09:50 PM   #2
BBQ
Salty Member
 
BBQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England
Posts: 31,081
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul S. View Post
I have a generator to install. My customer bought a 7500 watt generator... its peak watt output is something like 9000 watts, but the running watts are 7500. The unit has a 30 amp receptacle. I'm wondering if I need to upsize my conductors.
What size breaker is on it?
BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 10:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington State
Posts: 336
Rewards Points: 321
Default

There are multiple breakers on the unit. I think it has 2 each 30 amp, and several 20 amp. http://www.costco.com/.product.10005...rySiloedViewCP The link here is for the unit itself, costco sells it. - It has little reset buttons, not the typical breaker like I would have expected. No matter, I would expect they should still function the same.

I'm looking at section 445.13 of the nec

Last edited by Paul S.; 12-18-2013 at 10:23 PM.
Paul S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size generator do I need? Sloanhaus General Electrical Discussion 27 09-12-2013 12:33 PM
Multiple conductors of different size on pushmatic cmhcissell NEC Code Forum 2 08-03-2013 10:19 AM
Generator size up Shockdoc General Electrical Discussion 62 06-04-2012 08:53 AM
What size Generator marcusandreus General Electrical Discussion 10 05-08-2012 01:01 AM
Size and type of copper conductors for a motor installation RTorres Canadian Electrical Forum 11 07-25-2011 11:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com