Generator Load Testing..... - Page 4 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2014, 11:53 AM   #61
Senior Member
 
FaultCurrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 897
Default

I've looked at thousands of generators in my day and I don't know of any here in the big City that actually transferred the building load to the genset except under power failure. Most are programmed to exercise the generator weekly, but to actually transfer the load would cause an interruption, which is a no-go for most buildings.

Some of the more critical data centers have load resistor banks installed so they can be tested periodically under load, but this is rare.

The generator commissioning will require a load bank be brought in and the genset operation verified as to load capability, voltage stability, etc. when first installed but after that genset exercises with no load. Nobody tests the transfer switch except under yearly Fire Dept testing.

I was once on a job where a CAT 1.5 MW genset was undergoing validation in a new high rise building. It started up, transfer switch picked up load bank, and then the big diesel threw a connecting rod right out of the block. It was hell because there was no way to get the new genset in and blown one out due to access. They actually had to pull engine, uncouple generator, and dolly old engine out pulled by a pick up.
__________________
At it since 1971 and still going....kind of.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Grandpa was old, and he was slow. But he got there.
FaultCurrent is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2014, 12:44 PM   #62
Senior Member
 
Bad Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: I Moved, VA
Posts: 4,154
Rewards Points: 4,969
Default

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by FaultCurrent View Post
I've looked at thousands of generators in my day and I don't know of any here in the big City that actually transferred the building load to the genset except under power failure. Most are programmed to exercise the generator weekly, but to actually transfer the load would cause an interruption, which is a no-go for most buildings.
Must be a California thing because here a large majority are tested by transferring the ATS

Quote:
Some of the more critical data centers have load resistor banks installed so they can be tested periodically under load, but this is rare.
Almost all the data centers we service either have load banks or we supply them for yearly testing.

Quote:
The generator commissioning will require a load bank be brought in and the genset operation verified as to load capability, voltage stability, etc. when first installed but after that genset exercises with no load. Nobody tests the transfer switch except under yearly Fire Dept testing.
The first item is only done if specified the second item as noted is pretty standard here

Quote:
I was once on a job where a CAT 1.5 MW genset was undergoing validation in a new high rise building. It started up, transfer switch picked up load bank, and then the big diesel threw a connecting rod right out of the block. It was hell because there was no way to get the new genset in and blown one out due to access. They actually had to pull engine, uncouple generator, and dolly old engine out pulled by a pick up.
Been there done that and that is PISS POOR ENGINEERING IMO.
Bad Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Load Bank Generator Testing vs. Using Building Load to test generators. MR MAB Other Codes and Standards 15 03-16-2009 06:37 PM
load calc. rknrll813 General Electrical Discussion 1 08-14-2008 07:27 PM
Most Basic Generator Load Calculation Formula Randy L General Electrical Discussion 2 07-22-2008 01:53 PM
UF-B load calculation crash63 General Electrical Discussion 1 04-23-2008 08:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com