Generator rehab. - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2014, 08:50 PM   #21
Very Long Vacation
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states of america
Posts: 11,766
Rewards Points: 5,262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3xdad View Post
Thanks guys.

The owner said he'd send one of his workers over to the other mountain range to find the old cord cap for me.

i won't be back out there for awhile to get exact info on the yellow tag, but here's a pic for your enjoyment. They've got the 480 on the 6-50R.

Double taped breaker I see.


Change the nema 6-50 to a pin and sleeve. They don't make 480 volt straight blade receptacles.
meadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2014, 12:02 PM   #22
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default update

Any of you gangsters or community organizers out east heard of Pyle-National from Chicago?

Cat. No. 321-N
3ph. 30A 4W 600vac



__________________
Too soon, Black Dog... way too soon...Rock on buddy.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 06:22 PM   #23
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,334
Rewards Points: 372
Default

It still exists:

http://www.steinerpylenational.com/a...l-catalog.html

But

http://www.plugs.cc/PYLE_NATIONAL_AMPHENOL_ralco.htm

ON Ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ralco-321-A0...item4ce8ca66f2

Last edited by nrp3; 03-04-2014 at 06:48 PM.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nrp3 For This Useful Post:
3xdad (03-04-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2014, 12:04 PM   #24
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

i had to adjust the idle on the gen to run at 60hz. The single and 3ph 120/240v reads correct voltage, but the 480 tests only 417.

Any ideas on how to adjust the 480 voltage only on this regulator? Thanks.






Last edited by 3xdad; 03-23-2014 at 12:10 PM.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 12:10 PM   #25
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,334
Rewards Points: 372
Default

I don't work on the larger stuff yet, but wondered about the voltage adjust on some of the older units online and wondered if it you needed to use it often. Looking at the photo I would hazard a guess that blue pot might do it. Maybe you need to adjust it when using different voltages?
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 12:16 PM   #26
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Yeah, there are two pots. That one and the one on the left under the two black leads.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 12:28 PM   #27
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

i just found this here. Just need to give it a try i guess.
http://www.macfarlanegenerators.com....0-AVR-Stamford


ADJUSTMENT OF AVR CONTROLS

VOLTAGE ADJUSTMENT

The generator output voltage is set at the factory, but can
be altered by careful adjustment of the VOLTS control on
the AVR board, or by the external hand trimmer if fitted.
Terminals 1 and 2 on the AVR will be fitted with a shorting
link if no hand trimmer is required. Terminals L and L are
linked only for special low voltage applications.

CAUTION Do not increase the voltage above the rated
generator voltage. If in doubt, refer to the rating plate
mounted on the generator case.
CAUTION Do not ground any of the hand trimmer
terminals as these could be above earth potential. Failure
to observe this could cause equipment damage.

If a replacement AVR has been fitted or re-setting of the
VOLTS adjustment is required, proceed as follows:

CAUTION
1. Before running generator, turn the VOLTS control
fully anti-clockwise.
2. Turn remote volts trimmer (if fitted) to midway
position.
3. Turn STABILITY control to midway position.
4. Connect a suitable voltmeter (0-300V ac) across line
to neutral of the generator.
5. Start generator set, and run on no load at nominal
frequency e.g. 50-53Hz or 60-63Hz.
6. If the red Light Emitting Diode (LED) is illuminated,
refer to the Under Frequency Roll Off (UFRO)
adjustment.
7. Carefully turn VOLTS control clockwise until rated
voltage is reached.
8. If instability is present at rated voltage, refer to
stability adjustment, then re-adjust voltage if necessary.
9. Voltage adjustment is now completed.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 12:34 PM   #28
Can't Remember
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 9,334
Rewards Points: 372
Default

The question is which is stability and which is voltage? Looks like the boards are available still. Probably won't hurt to try it and see what happens.
nrp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 01:19 PM   #29
ET rocks
 
3xdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 2,875
Rewards Points: 2,174
Default

Voltage on left, stab. on right.
3xdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rehab rules Gamit General Electrical Discussion 18 01-30-2014 10:53 PM
Rehab code in nj? Elephante General Electrical Discussion 12 05-19-2013 07:31 PM
Health and rehab center Service Call Commercial Electrical Forum 6 11-02-2012 08:36 AM
Rehab joethemechanic Off Topic (Non Trade) 3 11-04-2011 12:54 AM
residential rehab services Shockdoc Residential Electrical Forum 16 01-24-2011 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com