Getting .143 vac reading on a 20A circuit - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2015, 06:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: AL
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default Getting .143 vac reading on a 20A circuit

I'm renovating a rental unit that was built in the 50's and has been passed through several owners over the years (many of which have done some pretty shabby "fixing" of various systems including some of the electrical circuits). I elected to replace the metal outlet and switch boxes with plastic remodel boxes since I the switches and outlets were in need of replacement anyway. As I was tracing out the circuits with my Fluke model 113 digital multimeter I happened across one that gives a .143 voltage and a continuous tone even with the fuse removed from the socket. I traced the two part wire back to the panel and found that the neutral has the neutral from another circuit spliced into it (whoever did it just removed about an inch of insulation from the neutral tied into the buss bar and wrapped the bare end of the second neutral to it and then taped it up - I suspect because the second neutral was cut too short to reach the neutral buss bar). I haven't removed the tape and disconnected the two to check the circuit again but could this be the cause of the .143 reading I'm getting?
keegans is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2015, 06:42 PM   #2
Moderator
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY State
Posts: 11,744
Rewards Points: 182
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com. However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
__________________
“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.” – Will Rogers
Speedy Petey is offline  
Old 01-26-2015, 06:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fleetside, RI
Posts: 801
Rewards Points: 1,563
Default

You are getting a false reading from your digital multimeter and it is confusing you. Use a simple test light or wiggly and you will see that the circuit is dead with the fuse removed.
samgregger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
14 AWG on a 20A Circuit BSK3720 NEC Code Forum 36 10-02-2014 04:37 PM
20A bath circuit xevious614 NEC Code Forum 8 08-10-2013 07:27 PM
277 vac circuit drops to 55 vac when load is applied. Sparkypyro General Electrical Discussion 15 09-13-2012 04:49 PM
15A switch on 20A circuit? shocking NEC Code Forum 11 09-05-2007 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com