Gfci box on lb ? - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 08:59 PM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: ....
Posts: 627
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Maybe I was a bit fuzzy how to connect. I was going to use a close rigid nipple through and into the weatherproof box and secure with sealing waterproof locknuts like this
god forbid that you should use a hub on a T or a X to give some
semblance of workmanship.

the answer is, no. you are modifying a UL listed device, voiding
it's UL listing. jesus forking krist.

you must have some deep pathological need to be the center of
attention with the troll questions... but after seeing you demonstrate
the absence of anything resembling enough common sense to figure
out how to pour piss out of a boot, i'd not let you wire a shisthouse
in the middle of a cornfield in kansas that i didn't intend to use.
user8640521 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to user8640521 For This Useful Post:
big2bird (12-24-2012)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2012, 09:00 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
ponyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: parts unknown
Posts: 8,051
Rewards Points: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FulThrotl View Post

god forbid that you should use a hub on a T or a X to give some
semblance of workmanship.

the answer is, no. you are modifying a UL listed device, voiding
it's UL listing. jesus forking krist.

you must have some deep pathological need to be the center of
attention with the troll questions... but after seeing you demonstrate
the absence of anything resembling enough common sense to figure
out how to pour piss out of a boot, i'd not let you wire a shisthouse
in the middle of a cornfield in kansas that i didn't intend to use.
Second favorite post of the year
__________________
Too dumb for New York, too ugly for LA
ponyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 09:18 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Semi-Ret Electrician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,109
Rewards Points: 486
Default

•314.23
(F) Raceway-Supported Enclosures, with Devices, Luminaires, or Lampholders. An enclosure that contains a device(s), other than splicing devices, or supports a luminaire(s), lampholder, or other equipment and is supported by entering raceways shall not exceed 1650 cm3 (100 in.3) in size. It shall have threaded entries or have hubs identified for the purpose. It shall be supported by two or more conduits threaded wrenchtight into the enclosure or hubs. Each conduit shall be secured within 450 mm (18 in.) of the enclosure. See related ROP

The underlined words have been removed by the ROP.

So, it could be done if the wp box is < 100 ci and you support the wp box w/ at least two nipples/hubs, which ought to be an engineering feat

And, all the required splices are allowed in either the condulet or wp box.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Semi-Ret Electrician is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Semi-Ret Electrician For This Useful Post:
drumnut08 (12-23-2012), HARRY304E (12-23-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2012, 10:44 PM   #24
Electron Flow Consultant
 
sparky970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Longview, WA
Posts: 3,309
Rewards Points: 992
Default

Please don't feed the troll
sparky970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 12:02 AM   #25
Buzzy304E
 
ibuzzard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ca.
Posts: 1,167
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparky970 View Post
Please don't feed the troll
You mean, don't feed the ****head.
__________________
Welcome to ET., where the clowns....

should of......could of....would of.....might of?
ibuzzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 02:42 AM   #26
Modérateur
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8,635
Rewards Points: 16,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cletis View Post
Can you legally mount a weatherproof box with gfci in it into an lb cover with bolts assuming you use a weathertight fitting through lb into jbox and caulk heavily ???

Code ref?
Est-ce que vous êtes sérieux ? (are you serious? )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotlegs View Post
Attachment 20426

Close enough
That may work but only for indoor useage but not for outdoor at all due it is not listed to work in wet weather without a WP cover for it.

Cletis ., I know you may have some idea but I will never try to reinvent the wheel like that. Just do the proper way as it should be done.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
Bleu est beau.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:37 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
denny3992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 3,277
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Love those fitting devices....
denny3992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:38 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
denny3992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 3,277
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

Cletis, before u ask another question, think neat and workmanlike manner before u type plz!
denny3992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI/non GFCI conductors in same conduit Shockdoc General Electrical Discussion 9 10-02-2012 05:25 PM
Gfci mgtack General Electrical Discussion 10 01-27-2010 06:15 AM
gfci njspark83 General Electrical Discussion 38 08-03-2009 10:27 PM
gfci coyledeals Workplace Safety 19 12-31-2008 06:26 PM
AC run to outside GFCI Mike Lamb NEC Code Forum 13 11-24-2008 08:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com