Ground splice in pull boxes or pass thru boxes ? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By flyboy
  • 2 Post By wildleg
  • 2 Post By Bird dog
  • 1 Post By flyboy
  • 1 Post By telsa
  • 2 Post By wildleg
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2018, 09:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: N/a
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default Ground splice in pull boxes or pass thru boxes ?

I'm trying to find my question in the code but can't seem to have a clear understanding of this. Example if you had two pipes emt pipe in and out one pipe is used for feed in and out with splice, second pipe is using the box just as a pull point for bends. Does the second pipes egc need to be looped and spliced with the first pipe ? I don't see why I would cut the egc and splice it when they all join back at the panel Together. Another example if we had a
Pull box sized correctly with 4" pipes for a sub panel some 3/4" emt branch circuits spliced in the box the 4" is just the pull point im not going to join that egc with the 3/4" egc? Hope this all makes sense on how I'm asking it. Thanks
Matthew90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2018, 09:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,627
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default

How much electrical work have you done & what was it (residential, commercial or industrial)?
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
Bird dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 09:49 PM   #3
Russian Bot
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: THE United States Of America
Posts: 3,371
Rewards Points: 3,873
Default

If your using EMT, why do you need an EGC?
__________________
Alright, Alright, Alright... I'll tell you what to do. Go that way, reeeeeeeeeally fast. If something gets in your way......turn.
Helmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-20-2018, 09:58 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: N/a
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 12
Default

I'm still a 3rd year apprentice resi/light commercial. Emt can be used as egc but id rather not rely on set screw fittings to trip my over current device in a fault.
Matthew90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:06 PM   #5
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East USA Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 4,690
Rewards Points: 3,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helmut View Post
If your using EMT, why do you need an EGC?
Because any self respecting electrican knows that relying on EMT fitting set screws for an effective ground path is Hack. I mean hack.
Speedy Petey likes this.
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,063
Rewards Points: 4,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew90 View Post
I'm trying to find my question in the code but can't seem to have a clear understanding of this. Example if you had two pipes emt pipe in and out one pipe is used for feed in and out with splice, second pipe is using the box just as a pull point for bends. Does the second pipes egc need to be looped and spliced with the first pipe ? I don't see why I would cut the egc and splice it when they all join back at the panel Together. Another example if we had a
Pull box sized correctly with 4" pipes for a sub panel some 3/4" emt branch circuits spliced in the box the 4" is just the pull point im not going to join that egc with the 3/4" egc? Hope this all makes sense on how I'm asking it. Thanks

Are these hypothetical questions? Who intermingles a panel feeder in the same box with local branch circuits?
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:09 PM   #7
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East USA Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 4,690
Rewards Points: 3,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy View Post
Because any self respecting electrican knows that relying on EMT fitting set screws for an effective ground path is Hack. I mean hack.
I posted before I saw your post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew90 View Post
I'm still a 3rd year apprentice resi/light commercial. Emt can be used as egc but id rather not rely on set screw fittings to trip my over current device in a fault.
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:12 PM   #8
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,519
Rewards Points: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
Are these hypothetical questions? Who intermingles a panel feeder in the same box with local branch circuits?
if there is no code violation (which there isn't), it's done somewhere.
Speedy Petey and flyboy like this.
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,627
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy View Post
Because any self respecting electrican knows that relying on EMT fitting set screws for an effective ground path is Hack. I mean hack.
Some of us aren't self respecting electricians.
flyboy and Switched like this.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
Bird dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:15 PM   #10
Cow
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 2,794
Rewards Points: 4,428
Default

EMT qualifies as an EGC and there our studies out there, I'm told, that have shown it provides even a better path than a wire type EGC in some instances.

That said, in our shop, we always pull a ground wire. Some people think it's wasteful, I think it's good insurance. We also have customers that don't chisel us down to the gnats ass over pricing, so I don't have any reason not to pull one.

Read 250.96(A) and 250.148.

If you still have questions after that, then feel free to ask them.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:16 PM   #11
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East USA Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 4,690
Rewards Points: 3,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildleg View Post
if there is no code violation (which there isn't), it's done somewhere.
There isn't. I've seen it many times. What about a trough above a panel where the feeders come in and branch circuits go out in conduits between them?
wildleg likes this.
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:17 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Switched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,041
Rewards Points: 8,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
Some of us aren't self respecting electricians.
Switched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:19 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Bird dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: South East US
Posts: 4,627
Rewards Points: 1,042
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cow View Post
EMT qualifies as an EGC and there our studies out there, I'm told, that have shown it provides even a better path than a wire type EGC in some instances.

That said, in our shop, we always pull a ground wire. Some people think it's wasteful, I think it's good insurance. We also have customers that don't chisel us down to the gnats ass over pricing, so I don't have any reason not to pull one.

Read 250.96(A) and 250.148.

If you still have questions after that, then feel free to ask them.
I had an NEC instructor that said good design dictates that you pull a ground.
__________________
Popcorn munching forum observer
Bird dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:20 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 13,554
Rewards Points: 25,356
Default

Many suffer from high self-esteem.
readydave8 likes this.
telsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:28 PM   #15
animal lover /rat bastard
 
wildleg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: somewhere in FL
Posts: 13,519
Rewards Points: 982
Default

to the OP: unless something has changed since 2011 (my last code cycle),

1) metallic boxes need to be grounded in an approved way
2) if (equipment) grounds are spliced they need a jumper to the metallic box
3) there's no rule that says you can't have pulled through unspliced grounds

if someone disagrees, let them list the article and correct me.
frenchelectrican and gpop like this.
__________________
this message was sent from a dental floss farm using ZappaTalk and a pair of zirconium encrusted tweasers

Last edited by wildleg; 12-20-2018 at 10:30 PM.
wildleg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:28 PM   #16
Small Potatoes
 
flyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East USA Treasure Coast Florida
Posts: 4,690
Rewards Points: 3,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bird dog View Post
Some of us aren't self respecting electricians.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Switched View Post
flyboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:29 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Switched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Posts: 6,041
Rewards Points: 8,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy View Post
I see
Switched is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Current on ground big time. just the cowboy General Electrical Discussion 27 05-31-2018 02:04 PM
Y Delta woes chicken steve NEC Code Forum 58 04-03-2018 05:52 PM
Dry ground pulls power boxes from homes in Regina, causes six fires RFguy Canadian Electrical Forum 12 08-02-2017 10:36 PM
Water line used as system ground. ELECTRICK2 Residential Electrical Forum 92 05-22-2017 06:48 PM
Ground fault, ship dwong General Electrical Discussion 0 05-22-2016 01:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com