Ground up or down on electrical outlet - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2015, 03:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 6
Question Ground up or down on electrical outlet

This debate was going around all day on the jobsite. I would like to hear your thoughts on either the ground up or down when installing outlets.

Last edited by guest; 01-29-2015 at 08:01 PM. Reason: fixed YT html
tigerbite is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2015, 03:07 PM   #2
Mad Skills
 
Celtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 5,803
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Ground UP
__________________
póg mo thóin
Celtic is offline  
Old 01-29-2015, 03:11 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
FaultCurrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: California
Posts: 503
Rewards Points: 945
Default

Sideways only.
__________________
At it since 1971 and still going....kind of.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Grandpa was old, and he was slow. But he got there.
FaultCurrent is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2015, 03:12 PM   #4
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Plug the grounds and feed the circuit off a GFCI.

IBTL

By the way in Canada we have to put the ground up in parks... ie: nudist ones, etc.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daveEM is offline  
Old 01-29-2015, 03:19 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 6
Default

gfci is the way to go. but at the hospital today, all outlets are required up.
tigerbite is offline  
Old 01-29-2015, 03:20 PM   #6
Electrical Simpleton
 
Pete m.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,350
Rewards Points: 172
Default

Welcome to the forum tigerbite but this has been BEAT TO DEATH and has been stated there is no NEC requirement one way or the other.

Pete
__________________
"The difference between a conviction and a prejudice is that you can explain a conviction without getting angry."
Pete m. is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Pete m. For This Useful Post:
tigerbite (01-29-2015)
Old 01-29-2015, 03:26 PM   #7
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,898
Rewards Points: 64
Default

You need to buy this receptacle and it will make everyone happy

Dennis Alwon is offline  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
Big Pickles (01-29-2015), Mountain Electrician (01-29-2015), samgregger (01-29-2015), The_Modifier (01-29-2015), tigerbite (01-29-2015), wendon (01-29-2015)
Closed Thread

Tags
correct, debate, ground, outlet, wrong

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aerial Ground Outlet fdew Vintage Electrical 4 09-22-2014 12:35 PM
240 volts neutral to ground in 120 volt outlet firefighter959 General Electrical Discussion 17 02-10-2014 07:44 PM
AV/Electrical Outlet nchvac General Electrical Discussion 3 11-08-2011 12:47 PM
How to replace an Electrical Outlet daverose31 General Electrical Discussion 11 07-10-2007 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com