Grounding - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2013, 03:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Mikeelec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario,Canada
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default Grounding

I placed my clamp meter on the main ground of a service going to main water pipe and picked up 2.6 amps. Is this a problem ?
Mikeelec is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mikeelec For This Useful Post:
Fibes (07-26-2013)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2013, 03:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,950
Rewards Points: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeelec View Post
I placed my clamp meter on the main ground of a service going to main water pipe and picked up 2.6 amps. Is this a problem ?
Not if you want your tap water to be an energy drink
bkmichael65 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bkmichael65 For This Useful Post:
Shockdoc (07-27-2013)
Old 07-26-2013, 10:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: kentucky
Posts: 12,412
Rewards Points: 5,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeelec View Post
I placed my clamp meter on the main ground of a service going to main water pipe and picked up 2.6 amps. Is this a problem ?
All energy...voltage etc, is destined to get back to it's personal energy source. In theory, the load current should be going back to the source transformer through either the neutral or one of the hot wires. If you have a loose neutral then possibly that is your problem.
RIVETER is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-26-2013, 11:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Vintage Sounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,259
Rewards Points: 4,004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIVETER View Post
If you have a loose neutral then possibly that is your problem.
Or if your neighbour does.
Vintage Sounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 12:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington State
Posts: 336
Rewards Points: 321
Default

Check the neutrals in the panel. The service neutral especially. Also check the grounds and bonds. I have never put a clamp meter (amp) on a ground but I have found weak voltage readings from hot to ground. (i.e. 12 to 60 V, something like that). I have also found weak voltage readings between ground and neutral. (i.e 12 to 60 V, something like that.) This usually indicates a weak or improper ground somewhere in the circuit. (If the ground is connected solidly to the neutral bus you should get 120 V, or full voltage, depending on what type of service you're working on, and 0 voltage from neutral to ground). When the grounds are connected solidly again small amounts of induced voltage "bleeds off" and I then get a zero potential like it's supposed to be. (i.e. 120 V from hot to ground and 0 voltage from neutral to ground.)
Paul S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 12:32 AM   #6
RIP 1959-2015
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Reporting from the east coast of Moonbatchusetts..
Posts: 39,624
Rewards Points: 1,344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeelec View Post
I placed my clamp meter on the main ground of a service going to main water pipe and picked up 2.6 amps. Is this a problem ?
Yes it is , Don't do it again..
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 01:04 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
wendon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsiberia
Posts: 9,327
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeelec View Post
I placed my clamp meter on the main ground of a service going to main water pipe and picked up 2.6 amps. Is this a problem ?
You're in trouble. Put those amps back where you found them ASAP!
__________________
Saving the world, one backstabbed receptacle at a time.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wendon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 11:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 3,838
Rewards Points: 1,224
Default

The grounded conductor current flows back to the transformer on all of the available parallel paths. In areas with a common metal underground water piping system it is not unusual to find 20% or more of the total grounded conductor current flowing on the water pipe.
don_resqcapt19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 01:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Dash Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 707
Rewards Points: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeelec
I placed my clamp meter on the main ground of a service going to main water pipe and picked up 2.6 amps. Is this a problem ?
No, that's not that much.
Dash Dingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding RIVETER General Electrical Discussion 54 11-28-2011 07:47 AM
Grounding Apprentice_617 General Electrical Discussion 4 01-19-2011 04:39 PM
Replacing non-grounding receptacles with grounding Gamit General Electrical Discussion 31 01-10-2011 10:34 PM
Grounding 250.24 uber stein NEC Code Forum 17 09-17-2010 04:02 PM
Grounding? calimurray NEC Code Forum 13 04-29-2008 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com