Grounding switches - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2015, 07:01 AM   #21
Moderator
 
Dennis Alwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 21,892
Rewards Points: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dash Dingo View Post
I think what the op is trying to say that if he grounds only one switch out of four and if someone puts a metal plate on, then the plate and all the switches will be grounded then.
I see his point.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
However if it is a plastic plate then the screws from the other switches could get energized.

The problem is you cannot expect the metal plate to be there at all times. The nec cannot make rules for every situation so it is easier to give an all out rule. In some cases it may not be necessary but it would be necessary in other cases
Dennis Alwon is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dennis Alwon For This Useful Post:
John Valdes (01-24-2015)
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-2015, 07:44 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
LawnGuyLandSparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,380
Rewards Points: 172
Default

When the emphasis on speed takes precedence over compliance and safety, you're already too deep down the rabbit hole.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 09:21 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
A Little Short's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 4,291
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RIVETER View Post
Are we on the same page? He new that "all metallic components of an electrical system" must be bonded at ground potential but in the first sentence of the post...pissed it off.
Did you read only the first sentence?
Try looking at the whole post, at least the 2nd sentence.


Quote:
Until someone decides to put a stainless plate on there, that is.
You've really got to start reading other words besides just "grounded/bonded"!
A Little Short is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2015, 06:42 PM   #24
felonious smile.
 
Shockdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Island,NY & Poconos
Posts: 15,934
Rewards Points: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eds View Post
In a non metallic box why do I have to take equipment grounding conductor to each switch in the box. Why not just hit one switch with a conductor based on the largest wire in the box
in the 90s i would only hit one switch in a multigang box and let the metal plate ground the others.
__________________
Clean this mess up before we all end up in jail, the test tubes and the scale. Just get it all out of here. Is there gas in the car?
Shockdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2015, 09:55 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
LightsOn81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: North carolina
Posts: 678
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Here's why you got to ground each switch. Besides the NEC says we have to. Which should be enough

Those switches are held together by plastic molding and a little metal frame. That little metal frame has the potential to become energized if the switch begins to fail. To avoid getting 120V or 277v to the little frame, which can put voltage to the cover screw, some genius put a little ground screw to keep people from getting buzzed or worse.
__________________
If it gets any better, I won't be able to stand it!
LightsOn81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Client called a Handyman just to change old 3way switches to Decora Type switches HARRY304E Code Violation Discussion 30 01-27-2014 12:20 AM
Grounding Snap Switches/404.9(B) uconduit General Electrical Discussion 35 12-15-2013 06:47 PM
Replacing non-grounding receptacles with grounding Gamit General Electrical Discussion 31 01-10-2011 10:34 PM
Grounding of toggle switches walkerj General Electrical Discussion 26 05-17-2007 07:24 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com