Has anyone ever seen this - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree9Likes
  • 2 Post By GroundFighter 78
  • 1 Post By Wirenuting
  • 2 Post By MechanicalDVR
  • 2 Post By MDShunk
  • 2 Post By Signal1
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2018, 09:42 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Default Has anyone ever seen this

This has us stumped and there’s no indication on the plug checker itself of what all three lights on means.
Attached Thumbnails
Has anyone ever seen this-4cf1a958-f737-4baf-bc96-c1cbf4cf22ad_1535118061550.jpg  

jonjon_726 is offline  
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-24-2018, 09:43 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjon_726 View Post
This has us stumped and there’s no indication on the plug checker itself of what all three lights on means.
I would like to also add that the plug checker is functioning properly. We have tried it with multiple different ones.
jonjon_726 is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 09:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Four Corners
Posts: 175
Rewards Points: 348
Default

I'd check to see if there is 240 volt present. Otherwise, I'd guess it is more than one issue. Get your wiggy.
GroundFighter 78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-24-2018, 09:57 AM   #4
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,958
Rewards Points: 5,502
Default

Welcoming to ET.
Please take the time to complete your profile and list your electrical experience.


The answer to your question is easy.

But until then, becareful how long you cook hotdogs in your microwave.
Bird dog likes this.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 10:28 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Had an old ac outlet do that.

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
trentonmakes is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 10:44 AM   #6
NDC
Senior Member
 
NDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,338
Rewards Points: 2,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjon_726 View Post
This has us stumped and there’s no indication on the plug checker itself of what all three lights on means.

This can happen if someone has a regular receptacle wired for 240V.
Time to call in an electrician.
NDC is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 10:46 AM   #7
Old Grumpy Bastard
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: "Old Dominion"
Posts: 59,296
Rewards Points: 1,008
Default

Welcome aboard @jonjon_726!

Time to break out a real meter and see what you can find.

They are called idiot lights for a reason.
Wirenuting and glen1971 like this.
__________________
I'm as Christian as possible in the times we live in.

Always just a stallion in a china shop
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 11:05 AM   #8
Coffee drinking member
 
Wirenuting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ceti Alpha V
Posts: 11,958
Rewards Points: 5,502
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicalDVR View Post
Welcome aboard @jonjon_726!

Time to break out a real meter and see what you can find.

They are called idiot lights for a reason.
If the answer wasn’t “A”
AND
He corrected issue “B & C”,
What would the have caused the third light?

Answer =



edit—— I believe this is in a HO’s bathroom by the looks of it.
__________________
Teacher, my brain is full... Can I go home now?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Wirenuting is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 11:29 AM   #9
Wire Ninja
 
MDShunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Beautiful Cumberland Valley, in PA
Posts: 20,984
Rewards Points: 1,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonjon_726 View Post
This has us stumped and there’s no indication on the plug checker itself of what all three lights on means.
It's either overdue for an oil change or the tire pressure is low. These new cars these days have a light for everything.
readydave8 and Bird dog like this.
__________________
One reason not to give DIY advice:
Catch a man a fish and you can sell it to him.
Teach a man to fish and you’ve ruined a good business opportunity.
MDShunk is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 11:35 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
canbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Just North of Calgary
Posts: 786
Rewards Points: 1,544
Default

What happens when you push that little red button thingy?


Tim.
canbug is offline  
Old 08-24-2018, 11:37 AM   #11
Gold Pliers Champion
 
Signal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 2,279
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

What you want to do is run an extension cord from that outlet to the biggest flat screen HDTV in your house.
Then plug it in and follow the instructions on the screen. (stand back a little)
glen1971 and canbug like this.
Signal1 is online now  
Old 08-24-2018, 11:52 AM   #12
Moderator
 
John Valdes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 15,590
Rewards Points: 2,790
Default

Thanks for posting on ElectricianTalk.com.
However, working with electricity and electrical systems can be unsafe if not done by a professional licensed electrician. The moderators of this site would like to advise you to contact a professional electrician in your area.

If you are permitted by law in your area to do your own electrical work, please sign up at our sister site, www.DIYChatroom.com where many of our professionals are also members and are looking forward to assist you with your needs.

Please take a moment to post your question at www.DIYChatroom.com If you're not already a member of DIYChatroom.com you can sign up for a free account by going to http://www.DIYChatroom.com/register.php/

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. This thread has been closed.
John Valdes is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com