Help Needed with 600v Panel Safety - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Old 03-08-2012, 08:21 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Default Help Needed with 600v Panel Safety

I am new to this site and hope to get some help on a problem we are having. I work in the textile industry and we are having a problem making a 600v panel safe to work in. The panel is a 600v panel that controls a spinning machine. There are multiple inverters in the panel and we have had them blow in the past so anytime my guys have to go in these panels hot they must be in full arc flash gear. Problem is these machines have a power supply that has to be reset from time to time and there is a safety door switch on the panel that kills the power when opened. So if we get a boot alarm on the power supply here is what has to happen. Electrician has to get in his full arc flash gear turn the power off on the machine, open the panel, disable the door switch, turn power back on from inside panel, reset boot alarm, look at the LCD screen on power supply to make sure it was reset, turn power off, enable the door switch, close the panel, then turn the power back on and hope that the alarm is still clear when we power back up. We can instal a plexiglass window on the panel so that the LCD screen can be seen but we still have the problem of pressing the button on the power supply to reset the alarm. My question is, Is there some type of plunger style button with a rod on the back that we could install to press that button on the inside of that panel. Then my guys would never need to disable a door safety switch and they could reset these alarms and be out of harms way. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Blake Williams
Alabama
Textile Professional is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk