Hiding splice boxes, Part 2 - Page 2 - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree20Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2019, 01:27 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,601
Rewards Points: 3,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveEM View Post
I'm fortunate in that I've not used this teck stuff. Only BX when I didn't want to thread rigid. What amperage are the conductors rated for? Must be derated no?

Can i have a foot for my desk?
AFAIK same rules apply to derating. I've worked on it from Cat 5 to 1C500 15kv and tons of sizes in between.

With enough money, they'll build what ever configuration you want for custom jobs.. We did one with a 5C8(?), 15C14 with the #1 conductor orange for a bunch of DC valves on a job. One buddy had an engineer spec 1Pr12 twisted shielded cable for a long run to a transmitter. It was something like 18 weeks out and the minimum order was 9,000 meters. They didn't end up going that route. lol..
daveEM likes this.
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 01:28 PM   #22
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveEM View Post
I'm fortunate in that I've not used this teck stuff. Only BX when I didn't want to thread rigid. What amperage are the conductors rated for? Must be derated no?

Can i have a foot for my desk?
This is one of those things I need interpreted.
I'm looking at the 2017 code book ..Chapter 3 ...
don't see anything called "teck", so I assume this is a Canadian
thing ...thus interpret please. I don't understand French either.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 01:29 PM   #23
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
What is teck cable?
so its just not me then
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-04-2019, 01:29 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Alberta Rockies
Posts: 2,601
Rewards Points: 3,562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentonmakes View Post
You guys need MC cable

Bend it in 1/2 til it splits, turn it, then snip the metal strand holding it together.

Easy peesy

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
We've got BX (AC90) for that.. Teck can be ran anywhere, and isn't usually a pain to strip. We had a bad run on one job and it took two guys to strip every cable and the longest you could get was in 12-18" lengths of the armour. Best we can figure, they messed up building it and coiled it too tight. That was a good arm workout on the job for sure.
99cents likes this.
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 02:04 PM   #25
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,066
Rewards Points: 10,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
This is one of those things I need interpreted.
I'm looking at the 2017 code book ..Chapter 3 ...
don't see anything called "teck", so I assume this is a Canadian
thing ...thus interpret please. I don't understand French either.
Crash course on Teck - it was originally designed for mining, then petrochemical started using it. It has become so common that we use it in commercial and even residential now. I assume the suppliers make good money off all us little guys buying cut-to-order.

It can be used and abused almost anywhere. Multiconductor of same size is easy to get and it’s rated 600V. Outdoor and boom proof you need the proper connectors but indoors you just strip back the outer jacket and use an ordinary flex connector.

I can’t believe it hasn’t made its way down south.
glen1971 likes this.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 99cents For This Useful Post:
lighterup (04-04-2019)
Old 04-04-2019, 03:13 PM   #26
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Crash course on Teck - it was originally designed for mining, then petrochemical started using it. It has become so common that we use it in commercial and even residential now. I assume the suppliers make good money off all us little guys buying cut-to-order.

It can be used and abused almost anywhere. Multiconductor of same size is easy to get and itís rated 600V. Outdoor and boom proof you need the proper connectors but indoors you just strip back the outer jacket and use an ordinary flex connector.

I canít believe it hasnít made its way down south.
thanx. you cab be very nice dude when you try
99cents likes this.
lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 03:19 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
trentonmakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,315
Rewards Points: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
thanx. you cab be very nice dude when you try
Oh, he can be a bit of a prick when he tries too

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
99cents likes this.
trentonmakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 03:23 PM   #28
Can't sign em..forget em
 
lighterup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,361
Rewards Points: 10,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentonmakes View Post
Oh, he can be a bit of a prick when he tries too

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
I've noticed...he's a ...he's grouchy

lighterup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:01 PM   #29
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,066
Rewards Points: 10,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trentonmakes View Post
Oh, he can be a bit of a prick when he tries too

Sent from my LG-K550 using Tapatalk
Pfffft!
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:04 PM   #30
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,066
Rewards Points: 10,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveEM View Post
I'm fortunate in that I've not used this teck stuff. Only BX when I didn't want to thread rigid. What amperage are the conductors rated for? Must be derated no?

Can i have a foot for my desk?
Sure. I have a piece of 2C6 in the supervan .

Derated like any other cable.

Last edited by 99cents; 04-04-2019 at 04:07 PM.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:12 PM   #31
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,066
Rewards Points: 10,497
Default

Interesting trivia - it was first used in Teck Township, Ontario, hence the name.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:24 PM   #32
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Sure. I have a piece of 2C6 in the supervan .
I want the multiest number of cables ya got.

Actually I do remember using some kind of multi-cable in 1971 or 72. Installing the 1st set of traffic lights in Sherwood park. I did a few of sets there. It was like NMW and we pulled it 2" poly pipe. Only ran a few light bulbs tho.

^^ Used directional drilling then. Nice, attached poly tube and the guy pulled it back.

One set overhead... I actually used spurs for that guy.

1969 not so lucky. Vegerville traffic lights Lots of hand trenching. As a 2nd year I had to wear my tool belt while digging. Their first lights too so on Main and Main. I didn't want the town girls to think I was labor only guy. We always looked like electricians back then. We pulled in multiple #12's or 10's for that one.
99cents likes this.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by daveEM; 04-04-2019 at 04:28 PM.
daveEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:31 PM   #33
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Interesting trivia - it was first used in Teck Township, Ontario, hence the name.
You're trying to get the American guys to like you are't you? I think you should troll Hack now.
99cents likes this.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
daveEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:34 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
HackWork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: -
Posts: 31,711
Rewards Points: 557
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveEM View Post
You're trying to get the American guys to like you are't you? I think you should troll Hack now.
You guys should be nice to sweet, innocent ol' Hax.
daveEM likes this.
__________________
There are 2 types of electrician... Those who knowingly break code, and those who lie about it.
HackWork is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 04:35 PM   #35
:-)
 
daveEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 3,670
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

Back to the original post. I think the ceiling. Maybe a a map as to which tile. Easer to get at than getting a gorilla helper to move the loaded cooler.

Tile is not that heavy. You are running flexi stuff. Let the tin man finish 1st. Plumber too.

If you do put it on the ceiling bracket it down. I got a 12x12 j-box on one job site on the ceiling where the cover drops down. Looking up at that crap for an hour sure is hard on the neck.

Just my opinion.
HackWork likes this.
__________________
<<
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


I like perfect.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by daveEM; 04-04-2019 at 04:39 PM.
daveEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 05:52 PM   #36
Petulant Amateur
 
99cents's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Perky Nipples, Canada
Posts: 20,066
Rewards Points: 10,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveEM View Post
Back to the original post. I think the ceiling. Maybe a a map as to which tile. Easer to get at than getting a gorilla helper to move the loaded cooler.

Tile is not that heavy. You are running flexi stuff. Let the tin man finish 1st. Plumber too.

If you do put it on the ceiling bracket it down. I got a 12x12 j-box on one job site on the ceiling where the cover drops down. Looking up at that crap for an hour sure is hard on the neck.

Just my opinion.
Now Iím going to feel bad when I do it.

But Iíll get over it.
99cents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 06:16 PM   #37
Watt Pusher
 
B-Nabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Port Coquitlam, Canada
Posts: 2,039
Rewards Points: 466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99cents View Post
Interesting trivia - it was first used in Teck Township, Ontario, hence the name.
Now called Kirkland Lake, Teck Township was so named because of the Teck-Hughes mine that was located there. Teck joined with Cominco in 2001 to become Teck Cominco, now called Teck Resources, headquartered in Vancouver.

Sent from my SM-G920W8 using Tapatalk
99cents and glen1971 like this.
__________________
Is that a real poncho or is that a Sears poncho?
B-Nabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 08:34 PM   #38
MTW
Senior Member
 
MTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 14,079
Rewards Points: 7,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbrn33 View Post
What is teck cable?
A wiring method they use in communist countries.
MTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2019, 10:18 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
CoolWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SC
Posts: 1,455
Rewards Points: 940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lighterup View Post
This is one of those things I need interpreted.
I'm looking at the 2017 code book ..Chapter 3 ...
don't see anything called "teck", so I assume this is a Canadian
thing ...thus interpret please. I don't understand French either.
It's like PVC coated MC, but there's another PVC layer under the metal sheath too.
glen1971 likes this.
__________________
I'm With Her! Hillary 2016
CoolWill is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zone 1 splice MDave Canadian Electrical Forum 6 03-15-2019 06:41 PM
Ground splice in pull boxes or pass thru boxes ? Matthew90 General Electrical Discussion 16 12-20-2018 10:29 PM
Splice in Panel NDC Canadian Electrical Forum 20 08-24-2018 09:17 AM
Boxes part way in block wall psd7.3 Commercial Electrical Forum 28 02-06-2016 11:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com