Home Wiring Question - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion

Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By macmikeman
  • 1 Post By sbrn33
  • 1 Post By The_Modifier
  • 1 Post By Signal1
Closed Thread

Old 01-21-2018, 01:19 PM   #1

Default Home Wiring Question

So I need a little help guys. I used to work as an apprentice electricician, mainly commercial, so I know quite a bit but still need help cause this is driving me crazy.

I wired and installed 6 Dimmable LED lights in recessed cans with a dimmable LED switch (120v). When I turned them on you can barely tell they’re lit. . When I measured hot to ground and I get 118v. Neutral to ground I get 50v. But when I measure hot to neutral I get 55v. I can get the the lights to fully work if I tie the neutral to the ground on the switch.... I don’t feel comfortable wiring it this way as I don’t want the house to burn down. Any thoughts or ideas? Is this considered an “open neutral”?
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE