How do PLCs work? - Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Electrician Talk - Professional Electrical Contractors Forum > Electrical Forum > General Electrical Discussion


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By macmikeman
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2016, 08:18 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 50
Default How do PLCs work?

"...we can describe the function of a PLC in simple terms. The PLC takes inputs, performs logic on the inputs in the CPU and then turns on or off outputs based on that logic. We will get into more detail later but for now, think of it like this:

1. The CPU monitors the status of the inputs (ex. switch on, proximity sensor off, valve 40% open, etc.)
2. The CPU takes the information that it gets from the inputs, performs logic on the inputs
3. The CPU operates the outputs logic (ex. turn off motor, open valve, etc.)..."

Check out the rest of the post:
http://www.myplctraining.com/beginne...ction-to-plcs/
sdgates is offline   Reply With Quote
Join Contractor Talk

Join the #1 Electrician Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

ElectricianTalk.com - Are you a Professional Electrical Contractor? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's the leading place for electricians to meet online. No homeowners asking DIY questions. Just fellow tradesmen who enjoy talking about their business, their trade, and anything else that comes up. No matter what your specialty is you'll find that ElectricianTalk.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join ElectricianTalk.com - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ElectricianTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2016, 09:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 5,380
Rewards Points: 2,858
Default

Are you asking a question?
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS Timers

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(833) GPS-TIME
MikeFL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 10:04 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 50
Default

Hi Mike, no it wasn't intended to be a question. More of conversation starter and to share my thoughts
sdgates is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sdgates For This Useful Post:
MikeFL (11-09-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2016, 10:05 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 50
Default

But I'd love to hear your thoughts if you'd like to add your expertise to the mix?
sdgates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 10:36 AM   #5
Senile Member
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 26,951
Rewards Points: 16,261
Default

The plc is a box full of if, then, else, arrays,variables, and timers. It puts 1's and Zero's into variables at the request of the human coder.
MikeFL likes this.
__________________
Thought for the Day: President Trump is the first sitting U.S. president to EVER step foot in North Korea... Obama got a Nobel Peace Prize for being black.
macmikeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 12:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 1,442
Rewards Points: 1,998
Default

a plc is just a computer with inputs outputs
oliquir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 12:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Midwest
Posts: 882
Rewards Points: 1,524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliquir View Post
a plc is just a computer with inputs outputs
I agree this may be the simplest explanation. Continuing with the computer example, the keyboard keys are the inputs and the printer is the output.

In the middle is the program.
bill39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 05:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
backstay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: mn
Posts: 12,376
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Actually, the PLC reads it's inputs, runs through the logic program(s) and writes to its outputs, basically. If you're going to be programming, I think it's important to understand how a PLC works, step by step.
backstay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So you want to become an apprentice in Canada... Vintage Sounds Electrician Apprentice Forum 52 08-07-2017 03:59 PM
Work in SW Virginia andytheham Looking For Work 0 03-19-2016 04:43 PM
Looking for Entry Level Electrical work in Blacksburg Roanoke VA area. andytheham Looking For Work 1 03-09-2016 06:59 PM
Getting my first car, advice to keep it clean when used for work commute ? David C Tools, Equipment and New Products 27 01-24-2016 10:39 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PaintTalk.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com